Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wrecking Bull

by srimech - Compo Entry

Ben is a bull for hire. He's been hired by Mr Delaunay to smash another china shop's stock. You control Ben's skateboard and have to keep Ben inside the shop.

In other words, it's a clone of Breakout. Use the arrow keys to control the skateboard (bat). The main difference is that the blocks are arbitrary polygons. The collision resolving code becomes significantly more complicated because of this. It should model a circular projectile bouncing off both vertices and edges of a polygon accurately, although there are almost certainly some glitches in the algorithm which was written in a few hours.

The sound is pretty basic, but I did smash an old plate with a hammer to record some of the effects, in case that gets me any extra points. Sound doesn't currently work in Internet Explorer, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#240Humor2.90
#476Audio2.64
#492Fun3.14
#636Graphics2.82
#728Overall2.95
#796Mood2.38
#840Theme3.14
#900Innovation2.19
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

StaNov says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Cool idea with non-rectangular bricks :) Very unpredictible ball direction after collision and therefore difficult though.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

The "bull in a china shop" is probably the best spin on Breakout I've seen next to Wizorb. The collision detection is cool too!

How did you decide to break the shape into polygons? Is it a Voronoi Diagram? I like the initial hit when you smash it to pieces.

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

10/10 would smash china with a bull again

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Pretty nice breakout clone. But it's very hard, as it's sometimes hard to predict where the ball bull will go. And it's very fast, but the platform is very slow. Still Good job!

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Love it, don't buy the idea of the skateboard though xD

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Pretty enjoyable)
Still, I'd prefer more distance between object to crush and rocket. Currently it's too short and there's no other way to play (I think) but to shoot the bull behind object to try destroy as much as possible and to have more time to catch.
Ah, those Arkanoid times...

srimech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Thanks for the feedback, all. Point taken about it being difficult. I think it needs more space between the bat and the object to smash. I ran out of space on the screen and it would have been a bit difficult to shrink the china.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Very nice!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47pm

This game is quite enjoyable, but the random brick shapes make the game very unpredictable, leading to some frustrating losses.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Love breakout and this is a great version. Good stuff.

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Good use of theme. Never thought that breakout could be played with only two controls. Also liked the idea of menu selection with two controls

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Quite surprised to see a game which is the opposite of "growing" (not a bad thing, though, you still used the other theme). It was pretty fun and humorous. The only things I disliked were the red background (really, one of the worst colors for a background ever) and how the skateboard and the bulls had a different graphical style.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Nice little game. Well done.

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Fun idea. Using polygons instead of rectangular bricks also makes it cooler. The bull moves too fast compared to the skateboard though so I often found it impossible to catch it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]