Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Exponential Cris(m)is

by hitchh1k3r - Jam Entry

Santa has to deliver presents to every entity in the Multiverse, but he can only do this by using dangerous unbounded exponential self division. Good thing he got the Omnicube 9000 for Christmas this year.

How To Play

* First, decide who you would like to give a gift to.
* Next, follow the button choices that would lead you to that recipient.
* Then, if your recipient does not yet exist, create them.
* Next, choose two new buttons for the next player.
* If you continue to play eventually you'll reach the edge of the known universe.
* But, do not despair, you can keep playing to expand the multiverse indefinitely by continuing to choose, make, and give gifts to new recipients.

Pro-Tips

* You can use the back button in the upper left to go back up a level.
* Buttons that will go to the editor have a special icon at the end.
* Once in the editor, you cannot go back.
* More of the story will be revealed the further you go.


Credits

programming - HitchH1k3r
graphics - Naali
writing & music - Tlyn

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Innovation(Jam)4.15
#151Humor(Jam)3.50
#325Mood(Jam)3.45
#418Theme(Jam)3.78
#487Audio(Jam)3.06
#584Overall(Jam)3.25
#593Fun(Jam)3.06
#762Graphics(Jam)2.98

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

strange game.

Ghen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

dude, this game is weird and extra creepy because of the song D:, somehow remind me of saladfinger :/
but really interesting and unique nontheless

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30am

This is fantastic, completely weird, I'm confused and I think that's a good thing. I'll probably come back to this one in the future.

Question, I get to a screen where I can "paint" does this submit a new character or something?

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

I don't understand.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

@broiledvictory Yes, the story grows as more and more people play it ^_^

Ka-Wiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44am

holy crap what a cool idea
host this forever pl0x

reminds me of that one web drawing game that got super popular awhile back... the one where you had to draw what the last person described, and then someone described your drawing, etc etc... yeah, that one

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48pm

This is awesome! Stuff like this is so interesting. I just hate having to draw things for myself.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13am

Oh, God! Good idea, nice done!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Interesting idea, very unique

Switchiers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Wow

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Very creative !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10pm

I miiiiiiight have drawn some inapproprate stuff (wops), so sorry about that ;) I'm guessing i'm not the only one though. Very cool concept, nicely done. Cheers!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Fun game but didn't quite understand it.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36pm

@DinnerInTheDark It's okay, we expected that ^_^ We tried to make seed content that would guide people a bit, but are more interested it what and how many people do what. There is a content warning, so as long as things don't get too offensive I shouldn't have to censor anything.

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Reminds me somehow of "We the Giants". But I didn't understand a thing before reading your description :D. Maybe the game should be more explicit?
Very nice idea on how to use the theme. Congrats!

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:26pm

This is a fantastic idea. I love it!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:23am

Very creative, good job guy!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Woah. This game is super weird, but I love it - great stuff!

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Really cool idea. I'll be honest, I didn't get it until I read the comments, But now I have to go back and make some stuff. It would be cool if there was more art and world/experience building content in it before you get to the crowd sourced art part of it. I think you would get a flooding of content with some tweaks. The music made me a bit sleepy. Something more upbeat would be really cool. Creative idea!

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:22pm

great idea.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:36am

Interesting, I like that it has player driven content. A lot of features have been included in a short time period, very impressive!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:02am

Strange but interesting concept. I really like how most of the content is entirely generated by other players.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:24pm

beautiful idea.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:45am

"You make the game while playing it !" It would be an interesting LD theme :D

acotis says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:59am

Whoa, weird. What if two people tried to add something in the same place at the same time? Cool concept.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Wahaha, neat.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This was so much fun! Great concept, and the design was intuitive.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Interesting experiment, it needs more entries.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:28am

Ooh, a self-modifying entry... clever. Would love to see an annotated (with gift/recipient) path guide when this is all over.

MorganLeFay says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:58pm

This is such a weird but fun game!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:47pm

well.. this is a very creative entry! well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]