Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

REACH

by @SamPotasz - Jam Entry

A short game about personal growth. Feel free to read more about it here: http://www.sampotasz.com/blog/breakout-design/ (contains spoilers).

As stated in the title screen, I got the music from incompetech (which I'm very grateful for!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#437Innovation(Jam)3.25
#584Overall(Jam)3.25
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#854Fun(Jam)2.71
#935Graphics(Jam)2.41
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Clever art and a good quick game! Wish there was just a bit more.

DifferentName says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Hey, I got the "good ending". The game where you get some points didn't feel very fun, but trying to hit the ceiling ended up feeling pretty challenging and fun.

btw, I think since you didn't create the music this is supposed to be in the jam, not the compo. http://ludumdare.com/compo/rules/

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Oh good point! Switched the entry type. Glad you experienced profound personal growth!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Never let carrots get in the way of your dreams.

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

lol finally SOMEBODY understands me!

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Funny game with a twist :). I liked the atmosphere in the "secret" ending.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36am

Really cool twist on a classic game. I thought I got it when I saw the number of points declined each time you hit the same object, but I didn't - until I did.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

The game was rather bland but the ending was very moody and great! Well done!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:00am

A very thoughtful entry once again! Beautiful idea
I wonder how many people will miss the clue and give up... But that just makes it an all the more perfect analogy.
Brilliant job, looking forward to the next one!

JaytleBee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Arty. Borderline-prentious. Love it.

Grouflon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Whoha, secret mechanics !

f7f5 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:50pm

All the value of this game lies in the final twist. But it's worth it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]