Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Folkk

by Kalinka - Compo Entry

Choosed theme : Growing

Your goal is to make a village growing, by collecting and transforming ressource.

I didn't success to set up all mechanisms, feedbacks and contents planned (too tired now), but i can feel some potential. Hope you too !!

Third participation to Ludum Dare and always a great time : i will maybe try jam in team next time !

OST available here : https://soundcloud.com/kalinarm/ld34-gamejam-theme-song

Tools :
-Unity + Grid Asset available for free in store (https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/50282)
-Inkscape + Gimp for Graphism
-FruittyLoops for sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Audio3.11
#463Fun3.17
#484Mood2.95
#490Innovation3.14
#509Graphics3.04
#523Theme3.68
#612Overall3.09
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38am

Interesting!
I saw an equal game like this on a indie game convention. well done man!

Arowx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Nice work.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23pm

A really impressive entry. At first it's not completely clear what you're meant to be doing: you're faced witha wall of text, and going back to read it after attempting to play to make sense of it is kind of required. Once you've got the hang of that, though, building a civilisation is a lot of fun.
A few things you could add:
- Animations on units would be great
- Clearer paths on units would be nice
- Map expansion would be good - enabling you to move around the map would add a lot
- Competitive multiplayer maybe?

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I really hope to see this become a full game, the things that are there and working now do have some potential.
Keep working on this, and I can see it being a fun little strategy game!

Nice job for 48 hours :)

Kalinka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42am

Thanks for all your feedbacks !
I have planned these features (except mmultiplayer) but you know what Ludum Dare is : miss 15 taks in todo list when submitting :)

Kalinka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42am

*tasks

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:59am

great concept!, love it, very impressive for a compo entry
i don't mind the visual, cause the game itself great and just created in 48 hours, its already very impressive :)

Japes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Very cool!

One suggestion: make all the buildings have a "processing" animation, like the windmill does, just so it's clearer what's going on.

Was the idea to allow one output to go to many inputs? Because I couldn't seem to get that working. (e.g. a well to both a field and a donkey breeder)

Also some bugs where buildings wouldn't be assigned workers once things got really busy. Not sure if there's a population cap, or something.

Kalinka says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Japes, Thanks for your feedbacks.
you're right, one input multiple output was planned but not implemented.
And yes, there some bugs on this behavior :/

orion_black says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:06am

I ran into a bug where units would walk out of screen and back(to the input) but never get to their destination(output). As some mentioned visual feedback into what's going on in some structures would be quite beneficial. Likewise knowing prior hand inputs/outputs of structures.

I think structures supplying only one output and distribution lines using one tile creates an interesting logistical dilemma, maybe that's a possibility space to explore.

I quite enjoy strategy/resource management/... games, if you keep working on it give me a shout to see how it turns out

Kalinka says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:04am

orion_black, with pleasure :)

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:27am

Great game, quite relaxing to watch my little guys go about their business. The music was a bit foreboding though!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:45am

Pretty nice effort. You need to work on the "game" aspect, but other than that, I can see how it would be fun to see my little village grow into a mighty kingdom.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:00am

Great game! Cool idea and implementation!

I think the paths are bugged when there are more than 3-4 peasants working, and is the castle and the donkey breeder mixed (the castle is currently spamming donkies)?

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:24am

How can I harvest the wheat. I just builds up and up. I've built a mill. It still builds.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Nice graphics

Switchiers says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Don't work on Chrome/linux

Kalinka says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:12pm

JamesMowery : Agree : miss some "gameplay" aspect
oskardevelopment : maybe there still some bugs on path when multiple workers on it, i will try to work on a post-jam version
retrogradeorbit : farm harvest wheat automatically but you have to build a path to use wheat in windmill for example
Switchiers : Thx for feedback, i will try at my office

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]