Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Swarm Hunter

by HuvaaKoodia - Compo Entry

- - - Objective - - -

Defend the Orange Fruit Flies and the flowers of the Yellow Slime Tree against the attacks of the Red Eye Mosquitoes.

Defeat condition:
One of the main branches of the tree runs completely out of flowers.

Victory condition:
The Fruit Flies manage to collect enough nectar from the flowers. This happens after all of the main branches of the tree have fully grown.


- - - Controls - - -

Basic:
WASD - Planar movement
Space - Move up
Q & E - Roll
Mouse - Look around
LMB - Attack

Advanced:
Left Shift / F - Lunge (speed boost)
Left Alt / C - Air-break (hover boost)
Left Control - Stop thrust (drop down)

Misc:
I & O - Change mouse sensitivity


- - - Movement Tips - - -

* The movement is based on a six degrees of freedom input system (as in Descent and Terminal Velocity). On top of this there are gravity and thrust mechanics (similar to air-combat games and flight simulators). You also play as a beetle, not a space ship or an airplane, which complicates things.

* To move (and stay) in air you need thrust. The beetle can use its wings only when oriented properly, as such thrust is gained when right side up and lost when upside down or sideways. If you lose thrust roll around or look around to level the beetle. The low buzzing sound of the beetle's wings is an indicator of thrust.

* The beetle will hover automatically when it has thrust. Hovering can be boosted by air braking which renders the beetle nearly still.

* Combine attack and speed boost for a sweet, sweet lunge attack.


- - - Developer's comments - - -

The game balance is about right now. Concentrate on defending the flowers and you should do just fine.

The web player performs well enough after the optimizations. It still has some minor audio and animation issues which are not present in the standalone builds. Chrome seems to run a bit better than Firefox and doesn't suffer from the audio problems.

If you have trouble with the controls, like a lot of people seem to have, please comment and be specific about the issue. Thank you.


- - - Version log - - -

COMPO V.1.0
Standalone builds
04.55 14.12.2015

COMPO V.1.0
Web player build
05.45 14.12.2015

COMPO V.1.0.1
Optimization + small input tweaks & fixes
00.25 15.12.2015

COMPO V.1.0.2
Further optimization
21.24 16.12.2015

COMPO V.1.0.3
Mouse sensitivity tweak & input + movement speed increase
13.27 18.12.2015

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#347Graphics3.35
#447Audio2.70
#489Humor2.35
#490Innovation3.14
#649Mood2.73
#728Overall2.95
#853Fun2.50
#913Theme2.75

Comments

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18am

Couldn't get the hang of the controls, and wasn't sure how close I was supposed to be before I could attack the mosquitos. Enjoyed the art style and animations though.

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20am

It's hard to be a bug!
The flying mechanics are pretty cool, kinda clunky, but that's more by nature rather than poor design. I just can't manage to move around fast enough to kill all the other bugs. Awesome job!

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

Nice work! I had a bit of fun playing this for sure. The big issue I had were the controls. The up and down movement is relative to your rotation it seems, and that could be difficult to get used to. Probably something you would get used to with a bit of time, though.

It also seemed like the attack takes a bit too long to be very accurate, but again, probably something you'll just have to get used to.

Overall, pretty fun little game! :)

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

The controls took me a few tries, and I original did windowed mode on Mac OS X, which was a bad idea when clicking, haha.

The idea was a cool twist on the "defend the X/Y" genre, and I loved the idea playing as a bug. I would consider simplifying or stabilizing the controls though. I felt like I was battling the flying mechanics more than the bugs sometimes.

The graphics reminded me of Panzer Dragon, which made me automatically give you a four-star rating. If you were to polish it up more after LD34, I would love to see it as a low-resolution Sega Saturn/PS1 game.

Cool idea! I had fun!

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

Very nice art! It's a pretty cool concept, but the controls are a bit too difficult to grasp. Hard to eat any bugs.

Good Job!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

Pretty cool concept!
from the little blurb i wasn't exactly sure what I was supposed to do? So i just flew around and hit stuff. Flying around was really nice and responsive, though. the field of view coulda been improved if it was a bit bigger.

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

Very cool game, I really enjoyed this. It takes a bit to figure out the controls though.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

I really enjoyed this. It was kinda hypnotizing but it could get a little disorienting. Not sure if I was winning or losing but it was fun.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

This is very neat. I really like the first person bug perspective, and the animation and sound on the AI bugs is very nice.

I thought the controls felt slow and unresponsive, though, so I wasn't able to kill enough of the bad bugs to make a difference.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

Nice one :)
Project seems broken (odd argument in Player script, and no object on Scene1)

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37am

Really hard to control, but quite fun !

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

Controls felt like they were fighting me, but I really liked the art and mood. Bugs were satisfying to crunch too.

terop says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

The controls were pretty difficult. I think it relies on too many keys to work properly. Basically couldnt really move around... Nice graphics and theme usage...

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. It seems I'll have to tweak the controls and communicate better on how they work.

@SvenFranson
I tried opening up the source as a new project and it works for me. I'm using Unity 5.3.0f.4.

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Controls are way to clunky for me, very hard to operate while in the air. The art is decent though, along with the idea, but the controls are quite hard to control.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Being a bug sure is a hard job.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Just trying to find how to use the controls I ended up in the Unity Void LOL Good 3d I have not seen many attempts of full 3d Very nice

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Nice game, controls are a little wacky in my opinion. Other then that its a really fun game!

NuvlearGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22am

The controls were a little difficult. But from coders stand point the game is nice

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19am

Interesting idea. Very hard to control, but I understand why. I like how the beetle can only use its wings when right-side up. Also the mood is set well for a weird reason. I kinda dig it. Graphics were nice too.

But I couldn't finish it. The controls were too awkward for me.

Good work!

REIN1 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44am

Great idea ! Good job !

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Very cool game. The graphics look good and the art style is amazing

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:11am

Enjoyed the sound and the art style. It could be an amazing game except for the fact that the controls are very clunky and you couldn't really get decent aim on the mosquitos. Other than that it was fun to play

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:08pm

This was a nice idea but it was hard to control the beetle. Took me quite a lot of tries to get my first kill. I liked the sound effects.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:31pm

The controls felt very furstrating as it was difficult to control the beatle movements, and what we saw on the screen lacked clarity. On this last aspect, maybe the first person point of view wasn't the greatest choice possible.
It would have been easier to be able to fly only using mouse controls for example (left click to attack, right click to move in desired direction). Catching all the bugs seemed very tedious from the start and not really encouraging!

intXparts says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Holy moly this is one of my favorite games so far! Nice work on the controls. Any game where I get to take the war back to the mosquitoes is already a winner...but then you gave me the power to jackknife at breakneck speed between flower petals and execute a few barrel rolls while doing it! Yes!!! Well done!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:47pm

My recommendations: Increase mouse look sensitivity by a LOT. Player movement does NOT need to include roll. Speed up the player motion a lot as well. Giving the player some indicator of progress on the HUD might be good too. Of course, I suppose it depends on how much you want to immerse the player in the roll of a bug. :) Oh also, the bite animation could use some tweaking.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:30pm

cool game, not very common to see a first person bug-like perspective, very clever. However controls are a bit awkward. Other than that, well done

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:07am

@alpha_rat
Thanks for the input. I'll certainly work on clarity and conveying the objective in less a tedious way in the Post-Jam version.

@intXparts
You're one of the few who liked the 6dof controls as much as I do, high five!

@SSJMetroid
Thanks, good recommendations. Mouse sensitivity is something I can most certainly adjust within the COMPO update rules. Progress indication I'll look into in the Post-Jam version. Rolling stays... I love it!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:03am

I have no idea what I have to do.. I got stuck for a while until a read the giant text tutorial on the entry (not cool).

What is the theme about? Growth? Where?

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:35am

@nunesbarbosa
I had no time to implement in-game help unfortunately, the post-jam version will have it of course.

I reformatted the description a bit to make it seem less like a wall of text and easier to read. Still not cool, I know.

The theme is not reflected much in gameplay. The tree grows when the flies have collected enough nectar (don't ask me why) and a bigger tree is harder to defend against the mosquitoes. That's about it.

utgarda says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Yup, the controls are complicated. But after reading the manual I managed to fly around and even kill some enemies :)

banana4life says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:34am

Nice audio and overall graphics! The controls are quite hard. I understand that you wanted to make it challenging but that severly dampens the fun in my opinion because it is very disorienting at some times.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:48am

A cool idea, and fun too, once I got the hang of it. It's pretty satisfying to chomp flies. I like the vivid colorful graphics and unique setting.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Nice entry! At first, I played it on my web browser and it was a pain to control my beetle, but then I switched to windows version and it became a lot more smoother. I wish there were less ennemies but they damaged the tree much, because it is not easy to see the repercussion of there action on such a large scale. Appart from this, good job ;)

Gins says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:14am

I couldn't really figure out how to play :(
Maybe it's a bit too complex for a 48-hour jam?

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Was a bit hard to get the hang of the controls, but once I started to see how to do things, it was really fun. I feel like the base speed should be a little faster, and the lunge a little slower though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]