Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Macosa and the Cave by: Stefen Menzel/Andrew Herbst

by stefenism - Jam Entry

I Learned a lot this time And had a Blast. While this game controls a little Wonky It's pretty fun. I'm pretty sure I'm going to develop this further.

Controls:

WSAD for movement
Space Bar for Jumps
Mouse for Aims and Shoots

Use your gun to make things Grow. Pretty much just shoot everything

Have Fun!

UPDATE:
I've added a second link with some updates. It's much easier to play and I've tweaked the camera a bit. More updates to come!

Updated update: The doors work now! plus some physics tweaks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#414Audio(Jam)3.20
#457Graphics(Jam)3.57
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#757Innovation(Jam)2.76
#804Theme(Jam)3.30
#1010Overall(Jam)2.67
#1024Fun(Jam)2.33
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17am

Nice artwork! The controls are really difficult though. The character moves waaaayy too fast, especially when jumping.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Perfect score on the mood, graphics and audio for me. The controls made the game tough to enjoy fully, which is a shame because the rest was just awesome!

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Good looking game. The controls were a bit iffy, but it was still enjoyable to complete the game!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:31pm

It didn't seem to size in my firefox browser correctly, and full screen did some weird stuff when I left the room. Interesting (and on theme) concept/mechanics though. Nice job.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Great style and visuals, the controls are really cumbersome, with the character moving so fast and jumping being really strange with motion, it kind of ends up being really hard to play. Good stuff all around however, and I'm definitely digging the mood this game creates with it's audio and graphics in tow. Thanks for the game!

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Fantastic art and music. I hope you get around to tweaking the controls. Especially making the character stop faster and not keep the momentum up. There were glitches about where you got if you left some rooms too, e.g. got back to the beginning of the game. Only got to the 4th room, but would have enjoyed playing this game for its style, if only the controls were more manageable. Great entry though.

Lythom says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Hi !

What I like :
- innovative gameplay around the theme
- I could complete the game

What imo could be improved :
- controls : jump is unresponsive and glitchy, walking is out of control, collisions are unpredictable, only the laser is almost accurate (as long as you don't shoot downside). Global rework needed.

overall, the lack of precision in the controls massively lowered my game experience, but it's still a game, and it has qualities, so good job and thanks for the game =)

Gjarble says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:52pm

I really like how many different ways you demonstrate that the growth mechanic can be used to advance through a level- you definitely prove that this simple idea has enough flexibility to extend to a lot of different level designs. I must admit that I'm not sure why the gun makes the pig creatures explode instead of grow, though.

You're right that the controls are the biggest issue- the post-jam update is definitely a step in the right direction, though I'd still like to see improvements in collision, particularly with the mushrooms and inclined surfaces in general (so you can walk up them instead of having to jump around them).

One other thing: when going backwards through the entrance of a room (for example, exiting out the left side of the second room to go back into the first room), the player character appears at the beginning of the previous room instead of the end. This led me to accidentally restarting a few rooms because I backed up too much in the next room (for example, when I reached the final room with all those enemies, I backed away, accidentally going past the entrance, and thus had to do the previous room with the vertical corridors all over again).

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:22am

The control are too nervous. I managed to play until the last level but I abused the collision system which is really glitchy. There's also the problem of spawning zone at the entrance of the level. You can go back but you re teleported at the entrance. So, ifyou press left while dying you can sometime go 2-3 level back... The world itself and the core idea are good. You made me curious about the game and its content.

stefenism says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Dang thanks y'all! I've been working on improving this game since I've been getting so many nice and helpful comments. I'm due to make some more improvements and content in the next week. Stay posted!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]