Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Warrior

by JanGames - Compo Entry

I didn't think of a name until the last hours and now i'm to tired to think so i will give it a lame name and be done with it.

There may be bugs, but any of them should be game breaking, i hope.

AD or LEFT and RIGHT arrow to move.

Made by JanGames.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#461Theme3.76
#544Mood2.88
#635Audio2.19
#658Overall3.03
#665Humor1.85
#674Fun2.88
#681Innovation2.79
#815Graphics2.39

Comments

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

At first I thought this would be too simplistic, but not controlling the rate of fire added a good amount of challenge to the game and I enjoyed it. Well done.

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

Had a lot of fun with this- the spinning ship is a very neat addition to a typical "bullet hell".

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

the game is interesting, with a bit more work it could be fun

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12am

I loved the balancing between keeping enemies to grow, but not letting too many enemies keep shooting.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

A fun concept, but it gets to be a bit of a drag given that you move slowly and can't control where your other ships go. I think you would have been better off just going with either two button controls or growing. I ended up dying due to one of my ships getting destroyed (even though I had 4 of them), and it was rather frustrating because I felt like I couldn't really do anything about it.
Overall, both ideas have potential, you just needed to pick between one them and then refine them instead of trying to merge both.

dekart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04am

Well done, very simple but still challenging.

Few thoughts:
* background music would be great, even automatically generated is better than nothing (http://www.abundant-music.com/)
* some scoring system is a must for such games, without it there's very little feeling of accomplishment. what's the point to try to shoot all these ships if they don't count towards any fancy number?
* faster shooting would create more dynamic gameplay. probably it speeds up later, but at the beginning it feels like drag

Hope that helps :)

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43am

Reminds me of Galaga. Nice little game. You should add some sprites and sounds after the compo. Its a fun game.

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Completely undestand you on the naming front. Nice game!

loxo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28pm

I like the good concept, the simplistic graphics and the fitting sound effects. At first I thought the screen is too empty, but it's space and it gets filled with enemies. Later on I noticed the stars in the background, maybe they are too subtle. I'm not sure about the speed, the game feels a bit slow. Do you shrink over time? Could be interesting to add that, so you would have a bigger need to grow.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36am

Nice neat little game.Growing was the fun part.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

I like how the mechanics of shooting, growing, and colliding with enemies kind of balances themselves out. And I really love the different enemy types you've added. Great work!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26am

Nice work, the dynamic between automatic fire and trying to collide with enemies while avoiding bullets made for more interesting gameplay than I expected. Good job!

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

I really loved the usage of both themes in this, and the way that there is a risk reward thing with the growth. Normally you wanna kill all enemies, but here you can risk letting them live so you can absorb them. Pretty cool!

Good luck!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Really neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rvwkTXA2Y10

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Cool idea to absorb ennemies to get bigger! Add an original concept to shooter :)

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Fun little game! I quite liked the concept of colliding with enemies to gain more ships, and the extra bullets provided there balanced out very nicely with the larger hitbox.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:15am

It's simple but it is very fun!

The idea of let the enemy survive, for that your ship can grow, plus controlling the number of enemies to avoid too much bullets, is a neat concept.

Only thing that bugs me is that the danger, the enemy's bullet, have the same color of the enemy (who is not exactly a danger).

Anyway, good job!

Hectigo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Cool idea, and I like how the player's little fleet is always rotating. Interaction feels very limited though particularly with the slow movement speed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]