Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Inhabitants

by adamyounis - Compo Entry

NOTE: Sounds are a bit hit and miss on web version. You may have to refresh a couple of times before they work.


Inhabitants: A puzzle game about expanding into new land in order for your people to survive and grow.

In this game, you place humans and trees (pieces) on a map, trying to fill the space. Certain map tiles can only be inhabited by one kind of piece, and every piece must be surrounded by a number of other men and trees, or they will die.

The game was written in Processing (Java). It's currently hosted at Itchi.io, there you can download the source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Graphics4.04
#297Innovation3.44
#331Overall3.43
#410Humor2.51
#509Audio2.58
#517Mood2.91
#546Theme3.65
#627Fun2.96
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21am

Very interesting concept. I see potential in this concept for a mobile game.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29am

At first I was like: "ahh no this is one of these games that I am not good at" and started clicking randomly. But then I felt like I found solutions to certain constellations that let me even win some levels.
Excellent job on the graphics and the tutorial is also very well presented.
Really good job!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30am

I enjoyed this game. Its art is beautiful and gameplay pretty addictive!

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Music didn't work on first level, started on second. Very nice art. Also the idea is interesting. I ended up clicking everywhere instead of thinking as it proved to be fast and easy approach :). Could be interesting puzzle with a little bit of polish to the idea. Great entry!

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11am

I loved this game, addictive and great graphics.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11am

Very funny game, and very beautiful art

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15am

Pretty cool game, though apparently there was supposed to be some music that didn't appear to play for me.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17am

reminds me of conway's game of life. A cool concept. I feel like some of the levels are physically impossible to win on, but maybe I'm crazy

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56am

Pro:
+ Great art and sound
+ Creative puzzle
+ Interesting concept and usage of theme
Con:
- I got a bit confused by the life spawn of each unit
Obs:
o Sometimes I got stuck with no movements available

Great job!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52am

An interesting twist to the 8 queens liked problem, I suck at this kinds of game though. I managed to pass two levels by randomly placing trees and mans :P It seems fun if you get a hang of it but I'm not good at it. Would be nice to be a mobile game. Oh also nice work on the graphics and sound, they are awesome!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Pixel art killed and polish level was over the chart. Well done.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

The graphics are so nice!

herniewise says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:55am

I suck at this kind of games. Nice job!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58am

Coo twist on the Game of Life concept. Though a bit hard to get going at first. The visuals are well done, and help a lot the presentation.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:00am

Wow! The art is awesome. The game is fun. All around a great entry.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:35am

It was interesting, but I feel like it's pretty hard to place everything quickly enough and the music wouldn't play for me. Really really good art! I like how simple the game is and it was pretty challenging trying to figure out how to place everything!

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:43am

Good game. I think you should put some indicator to show what is missing for each unit to survive.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28am

Interesting and challenging concept. The graphics are cute and fit well. All in all a nice little riddle game

Somnium says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50am

Great art and music.

The game felt very polished, and the gameplay was hard, yet addictive.

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:09am

Fancy graphics and an interesting gameplay. Congrats!

I'm pretty bad at it though :'D

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Love the art on this one! The concept is pretty cool too. I wish there was more variety of elements you could put in there, but for a game made in 48 hours it's pretty awesome, well done!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:50am

very cool puzzle game, creative concept, nice graphics, well done

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:07am

like the concept - gonna play again - nice job

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:59am

good concept, and a very interesting little puzzle game that has a surprising amount of complexity behind it.

really liked the artwork!

it's rather tough as well, nice job :)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Random levels are often impossible, but audio and visual style of this game are great!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Neat puzzle game. Wish I could clear spaces, because I often got stuck by placing too many trees. Also the beginning of a level is pretty hard since everything is dying so fast.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]