Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Seed of Love

by fullmontis - Jam Entry

The Seed of Love is a simple visual novel about growing love... And plants.

Made with Renpy in about 4 hours because I am an idiot and wasted all the time on an unfruitful idea. So here it is.

I used both themes. The game has 3 endings. I hope you like it.

FUN USELESS FACT: I made all the graphics for the game with a fountain pen

EDIT: It looks like there is a bug on the ending that prevents from finishing the game. I will fix it tomorrow as soon as I get some sleep. It is 4AM here :/

EDIT2: THE BUG HAS BEEN SQUASHED! This includes both he bug in hte ending and the bug where images won't visualize. The second one was a problem with exporting. Now it should be all fine. Thank God.

EDIT3: Added the postjam version! It has some fixes and music added.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#146Mood(Jam)3.76
#468Graphics(Jam)3.55
#600Overall(Jam)3.23
#615Theme(Jam)3.58
#802Humor(Jam)2.03
#853Innovation(Jam)2.60
#915Fun(Jam)2.60

Comments

carlsommer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11am

I tried to play, but it seemed unable to load any of the images in game. The application itself was showing the errors, I didn't actually read them over to figure out what they were, but essentially, I kept having to select ignore over and over until pages with only text showed up. I imagine this isn't what it's like on your machine, so I just thought I'd let you know.

James McVitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

I also received these errors.

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24am

there seems to be a bug displaying images

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25am

I actually have an error when i click on start game : can't find the file plant.png

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05pm

I just finished squashing the bugs (both the ending and the image not showing) and uploading the working version. I tested it multiple times and should work fine now.

Thank you guys for the feedback!

Cyranh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Good job on this game. It has a very unique mood to it.

daandruff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

A nice game with well written story. I would have liked a few more choices throughout the game. (Also it seems to be problems running this on multiple screens)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Wow. This is a really nice story. I'm in a sentimental mood so I touched by it. Hope this story has got a true background, cause it sounds like somebody was going through that. +1 for mood!!! Goood Job!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Great story. I like your art style.

dodormeur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Really nice game, different from everything else. :)

celisoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Very good story !

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

A lovely visual novel with beautiful images. The only thing I could think of improving this is maybe a soundtrack.

Belug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Great game, I loved it. Best game I played in this Jam for now! Great job.

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

It had the potential to be someting interesting, but in the end it bored me. The graphics are very minimalistic, I thought it's because of the lenght of the story, but... Not. Nice idea thougt :)

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04pm

I love your art! Congratulations.

Thanks for the feedback on Parallax, man. We will work to fix the controls and IA too.

mrStrings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Awesome! Loved the minimalistic art style, and the feel that it really happened somehow.
There were some parts where I would like some more choices and branches, but it's comprehensible since there is a strict deadline.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

The game worked perfectly for me, and I loved it! The multiple endings were fun to replay and discover. The art style was simplistic and effective, and the writing was pretty well-done. Keep up the good work, I look forward to seeing your next submission!

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:02pm

You should separate the different platforms' files. I think a few people would be turned away by the fact I have to download files I don't need.

Now to the game :)

Ah, puppy love. A well written and cutely illustrated story. Reminds me of many many stories that I've read in my youth, mostly in manga :P

The choices were esoteric, like how you treated the plant would directly influence how you were in real life. That was weird but I guess you could sell it. But then it affected how other people treated you. That didn't make sense at all.

But still, a nice story. And stories are what makes us human.

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Really enjoyed it ;)

Dianouille says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Great little story. I only have 2 endings, and it make me feel so sad. Good job !

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Really really enjoyed this. Loved the art (although wish there was more of it), and I feel some music or sound would have added a lot. Thanks!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Nice story!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Great story. Could have more interactivity, but this wasn't obviously the goal.

Farelle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27pm

it's interesting concept that something that seems unrelated to a relationship can affect it so much :)

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:53am

Ow, congratulation for your game! Greate visual design. I love the draws.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:04am

Great going, fellow visual novel maker. My visual novel also anchors on the growth aspect of love.

I'd wish you add some music, and there are some typos I've spotted.

linseyray says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Really love the visual style! It's a shame though that you had only 4 hours for it, but for such a short amount of time--well done!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:22am

Touching little story :). I loved the art. The minimal organic style is very fitting and emotionally resonant. This made me feel something! Thanks for sharing~

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Wow, what a great story, I really felt like I am in it!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I can't run!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:31pm

A nice story, a bit sappy but that's the nature of this sort of stories so I'll take it. I don't know what to think about the choices in the game. In one case they're a nice and mysterious way to influence the game, on the other hand kind of frustrating when you have to guess what happens. Would've loved to have some music in it too!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:40am

really nice entry. superb story. great expierience. thank you for this. i needed this

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:36pm

While I'm waiting for the game to download: It'd be nice if you could make the downloads separate just to reduce the download size.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:29pm

It was cool, storytelling was good and it kept me interested in the story so I got all 3 endings. The UI was great and the story was ok, I just wish there was more to it.

Nice presentation overall.

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I really liked how the choices regarding the plant were supposed to reflect main character's way of thinking. Nice story and great use of "growing" theme.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Nice story and merging a plant with the story is really a nice touch! It's not my type of game, but the art is good and the game needed some relaxing music.
Nice job man!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:51pm

This game was good, I liked it! I quite liked the simple drawing style, and really good use of the 'growing' theme in particular

I played the one labelled as "postcompo" because I'm assuming that's the one where you fixed the bugs? You are allowed to fix bugs and have it still count, so it's still compo in a way.

rijnswand says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Nice art style and cool little story.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:58am

Nice graphics and good take on the theme!

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Beautiful. Nice visual novel, that fit the theme. I enjoyed reading it.

Mar 29, 2016 @ 12:56am

I like the art style. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]