Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A growing color changing RC-car

by Pikkufighter - Compo Entry

So this year i'm actually pretty satisfied about the result. Even though i could still do better. And the idea is a little of. But at least i added some music to this one that won't go that fast on your nerves. Still not a perfect loop though.

The game is pretty easy to get into just avoid objects and get as high score as possible

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#392Fun3.27
#433Humor2.46
#490Graphics3.07
#538Audio2.52
#673Overall3.00
#712Mood2.62
#749Innovation2.66
#885Theme2.93

Comments

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Hey there, fellow racing game creator! Nice job there. :)

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Nice racing game, if the car would actually turn i think it would've felt better, also dying in one hit is really punishing.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

The explosions are wonderful.

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Nicely done :)

Braidenator says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Graphics were quite nice, however the music was repetitive and a little irritating. The game followed the theme well, with the car growing every now and again. Whenever the car grew, the camera jumped to its new position really fast and I would rather if there was a smooth interpolation between the old position and the new position. But other than that, good job.

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Nice game. Car should be able to turn though :)

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Fun game! Those sideway moving pannels are scary! A bit more physics (jumping off ramps maybe?) would be cool, but great job overall.

themadknights says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Good job! The audio was a bit repetitive :D and the collectibles may have a bigger collision box I think.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Really nice entry good job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]