Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ministry of Growth and Information

by ashdnazg - Jam Entry

WARNING - Audio is a central part of this game - WARNING
Play something else if you are unable to listen carefully

===

WARNING 2 - The news channel has a timing issue.
Try to censor 3-5 seconds after the violation is heard.

===

You play a government official in the Free Republic of Unoppressed People (FRUP) - a totalitarian state.

Your job is to censor subversive radio stations by pushing a big red button.

If you misuse your power, the public may start asking questions.

===

The total length of audio in this game is ~27 minutes, where the average station is ~3 minutes long.
I can't promise all of it is funny, but we tried :)

Thanks for playing our game!
Ben & Eshed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#19Humor(Jam)4.21
#19Audio(Jam)4.31
#43Innovation(Jam)4.00
#267Mood(Jam)3.53
#275Overall(Jam)3.58
#310Fun(Jam)3.42
#840Theme(Jam)3.23
#887Graphics(Jam)2.59

Comments

Geti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:21am

Hilarious fun, very fresh.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58am

I could sit around all day just listening to this stuff. All the broadcasts talk a bit slow, which can be frustrating, but your sense of humor is great and this game as a whole is hilarious. FRUP grows ever greater!

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00am

I liked the idea, and the sounds were really great

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

The audio* lol

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09am

Nice concept, maybe it'd need some downside to just spamming the free button though.

MAB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10am

nice very fun

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21am

Really great game. Enjoyed listening to all the broadcasts. reminded me of Paper please. Well done

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Love this so much. All of the really entertaining stations made me not want to hit the button -- just keep listening. Very unique. FRUP grows ever greater, indeed.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Nice idea, really well done voice work.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53am

@Eingya
Is it possible that you never switched from the propaganda station?

Tetha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26am

Great idea. I love the voice acting, haha :)

jasoncoan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Quite funny. The people speak a little too slowly to feel like they're actual radio broadcasters.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52pm

FRUP GROWS GREATER! Yeah, this was hilarious and great, I let it run in the background and alt+tabbed to censor the unruly!

The only suggestion is: speed up the voice acting, it takes a while to go through the news!

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56pm

One of the more original games out there. Really enjoyed the voice acting. :D

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice work. I enjoy the voyeurism of listening in to each station. Not sure how much it really lives up to the theme, but I'm glad you made this regardless!
I accidentally reported "The Truth" a lot because all of the dialog sounds like conspiracy theories and something that counts as "falsehoods".

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Interesting concept. Great execution. Really laughed at the I<3 cats station. great humour.

rnlf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

So much voice recording! And the texts are hilarious. Hard to tell what level of "spreading unrest" is tolerated. Sounds like talking about alien abductions could be considered spreading unrest, but somehow it was okay for them ;-)

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Hilarious!

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

This was probably the best take on the theme I have seen so far! Awesome game! FRUP grows ever greater!

iapc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Did you just spend 72 hours making silly voices?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I love these kind of games where the audio have an important role in the gameplay. You have my positive vote ;-)

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:08pm

@iapc: we neither confirm nor deny. :D

In seriousness though, it's amazing how much time needs to be spent on the writing so it's of passable quality.

@everyone else: thanks! glad you enjoyed it!

Ampera says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Fun game. Unfortunately the subversive messages never really showed up except for two times.

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:07pm

@Ampera: thanks for trying it out! Every channel except the government has at least one, most have more. That said, you might have to listen very carefully to some of them...

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:31pm

The cat one is especially nasty...

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:39pm

great art. nice game

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Good idea, it's always nice to find something different. Congrats for the effort you made on voice acting and writing! English is not my language, but I had fun listening to all the stations. Howsoever, I get it but I'm not sure about the theme.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I liked it. Probably one of the more unique ideas for this jam. I apperciate the wealth of material you recorded for it.

One of your main problems is the fact that there was a lot of sitting and waiting. I felt like maybe you should've gave the player more to do rathe than sit and listen to radio casts. Maybe I was just bad and should've multitasked more, but then again there really wasn't a timelimit or a lose condition that made the user more hasty.

Bu I did enjoy playing it.

euske says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:40am

Without doubt, one of the funniest games in the jam! The cats channel was hardest one to me.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:33am

Two criticisms that I'll mention now that I didn't before: I would like to be able to flip freely between stations instead of being taken to a random on when I click the arrows, and I feel like it takes way too many incorrect truthifications before you get put down (after all, FRUP must continue to grow ever greater, and even a small mistake can go a long way to creating unrest and distrust among the unoppressed populace!)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Funny and very innovative :)

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:02pm

7/8 is the best I can do (I just can't figure out what's wrong with "FRUPNEWS"). Also can't listen to hokomoko anymore :P

Anyway, the game idea is pretty great. I don't think I've ever played something like this. That said, it would probably be better if it wasn't exclusively audio as I was often losing attention. Maybe there could have been some sort of textual information (newspapers/social media/documents...?) which we could actively search for to corroborate the accuracy of the radio.

The theme (censorship/totalitarian state) is also close to me liking (you may want to check this other game out: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36138). I think it was well executed.

However, the Ludum Dare theme correlation is pretty weak if you ask me. Ministry of "Growth" and Information is it I guess? Seeing as there are 3 buttons I don't see how it would fit with the "Two button controls" either.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Absolutely fantastic!
Your idea was great as if our great leader Bob himself came up with an idea for your game!
Broadcasts were funny, both in text and presentation.
Amazing game worthy of the highest praise!

FRUP grows ever greater!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:10pm

This is a hilarious take on the theme. Nice variety of stations, too.

One thing I found a little frustrating was, as the number of stations operating got smaller, it was hard to find the optimal way to spend my time - either stay on one station and listen for the whole loop, hoping I find the offensive remark, or continuing to flip through them and risk missing it.

Tijn says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Awesome game, guys! It's clear you had lots of fun making this. I also love these kinds of quirky, innovative non-standard games. For me, this is what LD is all about!

I agree with some of the other comments that it would be nice if the channels weren't randomly chosen, but in a certain order instead. But it's a minor detail, really. It's also not immediately apparent for each channel what you are looking for, but searching for it is what makes the game fun to play. I like that the game is quite forgiving when you guess incorrectly, which gives you the opportunity to just try and see what happens, thus exploring the various hilarious content. There's little replay value once you've heard everything, but most LD entries don't even have the amount of content you guys have, so that's alright really.

All in all a very nice game. Good job!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Very very nicely done. I hope you're going further with this. Reminds me of "papers, please" in a way.

Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]