Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

OVERGROWN . UNDERFED

by Almax27 - Jam Entry

We set out to create a vertical slice of a risk of rain clone for this jam, focusing on a 'growing' difficulty level and 'growing' number of enemies. Unfortunately we bit off more than we could chew and probably spent too much time on creating a large world and multiple character types instead of the progression mechanics.

Still, we're very happy with the aesthetic, platforming and combat, albeit disappointed we don't have an obvious connection with the theme.

Hope you have fun exploring the world we created and please let us know what you'd like to see in the game in the comments, as we plan to work on this on and off over the next few weeks.

Aaron & Luke

---------------------------------------------------------

Performance Note:
If you are having lag/performance issues with the HTML5/embedded version please download the windows version or use the unity web player. Thanks!

---------------------------------------------------------

2015/12/20
* Added player death/climbing animations
* Added ground AI jump behavior
* Added more sound effects
* Fixed Music
* Added Mute button (press m)
* Removed unity quality setting options that scale textures to preserve pixel perfect visuals

2015/12/22
* Added progression mechanic and scoring
* Added some funky new visuals to level
* Balanced classes a little
* Improved soldier shooting animation :)
* Renamed Thief to Smuggler as a hat-tip to Han Solo
* Added button to toggle pixel scaling in game (P)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#135Graphics(Jam)4.18
#194Audio(Jam)3.59
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#759Humor(Jam)2.14
#950Innovation(Jam)2.36
#1077Theme(Jam)2.25

Comments

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44am

so laggy I literally cannot play

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36am

I had a fun time just exploring the whole level although I couldn't figure out what the goal was. The gameplay reminded me a lot of Risk of Rain but I'm not quite sure how it fit the theme(s).

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Updated the build to better cull enemies off screen, should improve performance dramatically. Thanks for the feedback guys :D

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Classes are king. cool game

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:10pm

The yay:
Holy #$%^, visual and audio quality of this is so high! :O
Actual pixel-perfect graphics on unity! I have not seen this before.
Mood!
Many monsters.
Classes.

The nay:
Fonts are blurry.
There is no goal.

Jordan Smith says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Very pretty game, and also fun just exploring and playing with the different classes. but I couldn't really work out what the objective was. Also, you mentioned music on your main menu? The music didn't work for me.

OctoStudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:29pm

I really loved the graphics! I think mouvement need some more job to be e little bit more fluid. As said already the lack of goal dont let know why you're playing.
The fact that you're stopped when you're shooting is strange at first but could be an interesting dynamic if its more used and assumed.
Good job guys!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Thanks :D

@HolyBlackCat pixel scaling is all thanks to this little class I wrote

https://github.com/Almax27/LD34/blob/master/LD34/Assets/Scripts/PixelCameraHelper.cs

juxipolo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:48pm

enemies feel like they suck up a ton of bullets. Love the art

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:32pm

This is a great start. What I would like to see is more growth in character skills and stats. Also some sound effects and a life bar above the enemies would be nice. Not really sure what the goal was in the game though. I just kept playing until I died.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Yeah I think you guys overshot your scope on this one: what makes RoR so engaging is the semi-random nature and the fact that you're pitting your desire to grab loot against your desire to progress before shit gets out of control with enemies over running you. Its hard to pull that off in 72 hours.

However, I will say it looks beautiful. I like the spiral-y grass bits and the tall grass at the very bottom. I just wish it was a little more focused-- like that it took one element of RoR and really ran with it rather than trying to be everything it could be once it was fully developed.

anv says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Great artwork. Controls felt bit weird in current state - thief was the only once who can run while shooting, but with all characters you cannot change direction while in shooting state (and also for the next ~0.5 sec). Since you already have mouse controls implemented, maybe you could use mouse for direction when shooting and A/D for movement? Liked how each character class really did feel different.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Excellent artwork!

I didn't found the goal of the game, but was nice to explore the world killing many monsters!

Keep Working on this!

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:35pm

The game looks really beautiful right now. On the win64-version it lookes a bit like the enemies would throw up on you :D I realized it was claw-attacks on the html5 version ;)
There seems to be some kind of problem with the sound, because both, webplayer and win64 didn't play any sound for me (absolutely no peak in audio settings), while the html5 version did.

The visuals are really beautiful and gameplay is quite crisp, while a goal would have been nice.
All in all great work!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:12pm

@StMatn ah, that would be unity's texture scaling on lower quality settings, I'll remove all the default options and re-upload another build :D on the subject of audio it seems a prefab link broke when exporting the win64/web versions. I'll fix that in the updated version too.

Thanks for all the feedback :D

utgarda says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Nice plants! Unfortunately, still no music for me in web versions.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:42pm

@utgarda Should be all fixed now :D ty

Masuno says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:38am

Good start, but just a start to me. It's kinda boring without a goal, and I feel as if the enemies were a bit too powerful. Still, with some work, this could be better.

The aesthetic's very nice, I'll give you that. But games are not all aesthetic.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:13am

Beautiful but a bit empty for me. Good job anyway !

orion_black says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:49pm

The main issue, I would say, is that the best parts of Risk of Rain come from the staggering amount of systems/subsystems working and clashing with each other. A design philosophy nearly antithetical with Ludum Dare.

Good results for just 72 hours, but as a game, even more so if compared to Risk of Rain*, is quite lacking. Thumbs up, keep at it.

*The comparison is meant in regards of capturing the good parts(not a proper one), a complicated task to achieve in just 72hrs.

Joror says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:32am

Verrry nice graphics & feel. But lacking an interesting mechanic... but improve on that! The feel is right on this one. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:41am

looks really good - but not idea what to do - nice effort

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:17am

Loved the game, the concept and the art!

I wish there were more of it like powerups, upgrades and health recovery.

loxo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:52am

Great game with awesome graphics and audio. I was disappointed that it's not possible to jump and shoot at the same time. That's something I would like to see. And some better separation of background and foreground would be nice, because I think sometimes the enemies are hard to see. I noticed that the player is continuously shooting after death if fire is pressed in the moment of death.

Switchiers says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Very good game! Music is good, (sounds too), the game is well realized, good job!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:30pm

(I'm rating for the original one)

Great game, sure reminds me of Risk of Rain both in art as in gameplay.
It's hard as Risk of Rain but it needed some power-ups and more unique special attacks for each character.
Great job! I loved it!

scorched says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Cute grass patterns! The music should be quieter, I think.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Nice. I enjoyed Risk of Rain. This being so similar I guess it was your reference. I think you got really far with this one. And all in one weekend. Good Job.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Look fantastic!, although the pixel scaling is great, I think that adds nothing to the gameplay, but it's a great job.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:45pm

The game is extremely beautiful, partly because I love pixel art and obviously because it was well made. The gameplay is pretty great too for a game made on a crunch. Managed to get extracted using the hunter and making use of the right side of the level.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:31pm

pretty game! well done :)

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Music is terrific. :)
Well done on the game.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Cool game! It reminds me of ALien 3 from nes and sega. Great music and sounds. Can't say that it is perfect choice for this theme, but however the game is very fun to play!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:16pm

A great entry. This is a really good starter so as to create something amazing. However there is some weaknesses - I cannot shoot and jump in the same time - it's a shame. It could be more frenetic. The background music with the guitar allows to travel in a strange mood. A good composition. One of my favorites. I give you five stars because the source is available. Thank you ++

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:22pm

It's a nice entry, but it really is … too Risk of Rainy. Like it feels a bit like a copy / rip-off.

gelisam says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:52pm

I enjoyed how different the three characters felt. Beating the game with all three was hard!

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Very polished game with a lot going on. I like the presentation, you nailed the Risk of Rain aesthetic pretty well. Having different character classes is cool too.

jackrugile says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:07pm

I love the visuals and music for this entry. As you said, you didn't get to complete it to your original ideas, but I think it still came out as a solid base that you could expand upon. Nice work!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Solid entry,
Nice graphims and music, differents characteres are not well balanced yet. ;)

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:15pm

A very well put together entry. I'm a big fan of your art style and variety of character classes for the game; the influences you've mentioned are very visible here! The game is pretty fun, and I like the polish you've put into the visuals in particular.

Unfortunately, there was very little in the way of progression within the game - which is one of the core aspects of games like Risk of Rain. As other people have said, this kind of game isn't well-suited for short game jams. I didn't see too much connection to the theme I'm afraid.

Always nice to see another Cloudkicker fan! I've based your audio score on the sound effects alone in the name of fairness, however. The choice of music did add a lot to the atmosphere - I'm glad to see you put some thought into that aspect.

Quite a nice entry, keep it up and in future try to develop something smaller and more focused! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]