Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pots

by tiffi - Compo Entry

A small little farming game.

Oh, it's twice as much fun if you listen to some Reggae while playing the game, or just buy the stereo ingame ;).

Controls:
Seed/Harves: Hold F
Shoot: Click
Move: WASD

There was a gamebreaking UI bug in fullscreen mode, so I "disabled" it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Humor3.86
#359Audio2.90
#384Mood3.09
#392Fun3.27
#404Theme3.82
#602Innovation2.95
#648Overall3.05
#661Graphics2.77
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23am

Instructions unclear. Got head stuck in pot.

lekiy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31am

Couldn't really play very much of it, I became unable to exit the shop menu. :/

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Ups, i fixed that bug. The UI didn't scale properly, now it does.

kailijan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41pm

I like the idea in general, but some more gameplay than just watching the plants grow would've been nice. I think if you take some more time, this has the potential to get a funny game. You could for example implement some enemies, which try to steel your pot.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Ok, I got a pot then I can't to anything else..

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

i must say i absolutely loved this game!
i love the different kind of pots & pots's, and their spiceal abilityes.
to bad i died 15 min into the game to the pot monster killed me :I
gg wp, good job #420backhead

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Those sound effects

11/10

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05pm

@kailijan: there are enmemys in the game, the first enemys come when you hit 100$.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15pm

That's a totally dope game, dude.
This was as hilarious as it was fun to play. Loved the sound effects, and the graphical style matched the general mood of the game.
Adding some sort of grid system could help as at the moment which pot you're using can be unclear at times.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Loved this game. I usually don't like pot jokes but this was fun. The progression was fun, too bad the cops destroyed me and I lost everything. It would be better if it kept some stuffs or checkpoints or something :P

Overall, really enjoyed it, good job!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I like breaking bad simulator :)
when I sell my pots, I didn't receive any money.
Where's my money b****??

RadioLemon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12pm

dank

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Interesting farm game. It was nice to be able to place your own pots, and pick which seeds to buy. It seemed to me like the growing of the seeds was way too fast, but that's kinda hard to balance. Also the overlap when you were standing behind a plant was weird. The art style was simple but fun and the game looked coherent. Well done.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Very cool game. This 2k $ special pot is awsome :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Has the potential to be a great game. Whilst the variety of seeds and pots kept it interesting for a while (trying things out), it did get a bit repetitive.

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:58am

I wasn't sure what to do about the police officer...can I kill him or prevent his arrival? Anyway, super fun :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:17am

Good fun building up exponentially! I tried all of the items in the shop. A problem I have is that the cops' bullets are hard to see. At some point I ran out of ammo while shooting the cops, is that a bug or a feature?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]