Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growthia

by oskardevelopment - Jam Entry

Growthia is a slow paced strategy 4X game where the goal is to grow the kingdom and conquer the continent!

- Click on a blue territory to select the units, click on a neighbouring territory to conquer.

- Requires Java 1.7.

- Speed changes or saving are examples of things you can do in the menu.

Programming created and owned by Oskar Präntare.
Art from Kenney, http://www.kenney.nl/
Music created by Zachary Huff.
Sound effects by SFXR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#732Overall(Jam)3.09
#790Theme(Jam)3.32
#812Mood(Jam)2.76
#829Fun(Jam)2.74
#923Innovation(Jam)2.41

Comments

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Not sure i entirely understand this game...My clicking doesn't seem to do anything?

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Cool stuff! Loved the music.

Loved how the units upgraded as they got bigger, and the artwork on the different buildings.

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

It was fun! I found it a bit disorienting that the camera instantly popped to a square when I clicked it, but I didn't encounter any bugs! Good work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Hi eerongal! You need to left click on a blue square and then right click where to move, you don't have to bother with right/left clicking if you're on Mac!

Thanks Jod for the kind words!

Thanks KoalaBot for the kind words! What you experienced is what I've added for Mac OS players as to avoid you being forced to use control buttons when moving around. If you're playing on any other OS you won't experience the instant movement.

Connors says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50pm

I reached that critical point where I was generating so many units it seemed like I couldn't lose, and there were so many I couldn't even click fast enough to move all of my armies. I was unstoppable!

That's when the game reset itself.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Hi Connors!

The game considers that you have finished the game and gives you the victory if you've eliminated all the enemy units and conquered all their buildings - even if the enemy have some land left.

I'm sorry that it felt like the game cheated you from your well deserved victory! I'll try to add a victory text to the game! :)

2011petia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:00pm

nice game ! music is realy cool !

Gornova says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Lack of a gui and a tutorial is a weak point of this game :(

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Clicking didn't seem to do anything. I was very confused

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Victory achievment! And new game begins
Well working simplistic game, didnt have any need to build any cities. Easier to just conquer opponents cities :)

psypol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:06pm

why Linux / Windows / Mac OS link gives also a jar ?
i would like to test the game but cannot play

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:07pm

It works with right click

Wevel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Lovely game, the music works well

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:38am

Clicking didn't seem to do anything.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Thanks everyone for the kind words!

>Clicking didn't seem to do anything.

Hi OrganeeZ!

Did you try to select the blue area with the left mouse button, and then move the units to another area with the right mouse button?

If so, did it work if you restarted the game?

Troma says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15pm

I loved it! At first, it was tricky to understand what do to but as I retried, I've got really immersed into the game!
Well done!!

abuzreq says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:40am

So there is a lot for me to say
(first of all you should have said 'right' click on territory to conquer)
so..
at first the colors were confusing but then slowly I understood , ooh each turn I get one soldier
then different buildings produce different number soldiers
then i realized that I pay for the building using soldiers
hen i realized that there is a sort of dominance and places I come across takes my color
slowly then I starting thinking of stratagies
build as much castles as possible and by that I built 2000 soldiers and was to lazy to accumulate more
one because it was enough to defeat everyone and another because time isn't enough to do much clicks around

So I really loved the game and found out much about the game by playing it which is positive , I my self are working on a strategy game in my free time and find that good because it means your game is intuitive and people can grasp it easily.

Now I looked into your website , and man I saw many manifestations of the same game with different design decisions ,story and graphics.
decisions and balancing in stratagy games are really hard and I symphazie with you , especcially that you need to have an A.I in your case .
there is diffenetly much to improve and I am looking forward for advances in your game.
I made this stratagy game for LD32 and maybe you can take a look at it
http://gamejolt.com/games/nero-s-last-campaign/61915

Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:40am

I love these kinds of game, very addictive! Nice!

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:47am

Awesome! Music and mood done very nice. Gameplay is cool as prototype and AI was doing good but at this point its kinda simple. Not saying It's boring or bad or something very very nice for a game jam! You should keep working on this! Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]