Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BREAKING MOUSE :)

by elizeu - Compo Entry

A horde of aliens are trying to end their farm of cows and you need to protect them destroying the attacking ships. But is not easy, the weapon he has left are just mortars, you'll need to demonstrate good aim and a lot of luck to achieve its objective and free the innocent cows this evil that plagues.

How to play:
Anticipate the path of alien ship and launch a mortei clicking the calculated position :)

=== EDIT ===
14-12-2015
Windows version reporting bug: Missing msvcp140.dll
I go work to fix this tonight.

16/12/2015
Updated windows version

17/12/2015
Rebuild windows version in Visual Studio 2012.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#279Humor2.81
#531Fun3.09
#649Mood2.73
#842Overall2.76
#913Innovation2.09
#943Theme2.31

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45am

Hey! I can't download your game from the link. Google drive is requesting access. Msg me if u fix it!

elizeu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Thanks for the warning, fixed!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51am

hey elizeu! não sei por que, mas não consigo jogar seu jogo e já testei em dois notebooks diferentes :c eu clico e simplismente fica carregando para sempre! sabe de alguma maneira de ajeitar isso?

Saivan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:30pm

It seems to be nice game, but i couldm't play!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Don't touch my cow !

in3orn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Pretty cool game! One of the best I've played here :)

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Fun game, but it felt like the hitboxes were a tiny bit too small to be able to hit reliably.

Yazara says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I like the graphics, the cows are really cute :3
It's really hard to see your projectiles though, the first time I played I actually didn't notice them.
And btw, you could put the android game on the play store for easier installation.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:59pm

It's Holy cow fun :p
Though get tired very quickly.
Try adding some variation to the enemies or level design.
Nice game though~

srakowski says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:49am

I like the ship movement and overall feel of the game. Good job.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:44am

A simple game, with simple mechanics executed well. The game had visual appeal and offered an uncomplicated kind of fun. I think the game could be improved with a few different enemy types for some gameplay variety, and the collision of the bullets with the enemies could be tightened up a bit. The game definitely has character, I love the little things, like the aliens falling out of the ships!

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:52am

I don't see the theme anywhere. By the way, it is a nice game

elizeu says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:14pm

The idea is to protect the cows, allowing them to grow and reproduce :)
But really it became unbalanced, and not very clear!

Xgor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Tried this out with my Android mobile. It took a while until I understood that you had to aim right at the aliens or else the bullets would go trough them. Some feedback like an explosion when it get to the target position woulf have been nice.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Good work, the game is good ;)
Nice work here !
PS : the paper version rules !

ramoncb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Damn, maybe the ships are too fast for me xD

But it's fun and the pixel art is very cool! Good job!

LazyDev says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Good game but it looks like there are some problems with collision detection.

elizeu says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:16pm

@LazyDev: If the projectile passes through the ship he did not hit, your click has to be in the ship's path

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Nice game, I like the art. :-) The collisions should be more clear - I think if the bullet collides with UFO, it should kill it.

I also like the speed of this game, it's really funny and challenging. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]