Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

treadmill

by rogueNoodle - Jam Entry

** A second WebGL build has been added to the link below that reduces quality settings for both shadows & AA. Hopefully this will be useful for people experiencing crashes and lag. No other changes have been made **

Run the treadmill for up to a minute, avoiding the holes at all costs.

Controls
Left/Right Arrows

Alternate Controls
A/D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Graphics(Jam)4.36
#191Theme(Jam)4.05
#210Innovation(Jam)3.57
#242Mood(Jam)3.58
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#279Audio(Jam)3.44
#286Fun(Jam)3.45
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Rnd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54am

whoah nice idea...

XenosNS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

Looks great. Harder than it looks. Love the blocky gore.

Fervir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

That music makes it really intense haha, makes it sound like you have to defuse a bomb quickly. It really adds to the game's tension.
Cool game, I wonder how high the high score will get.

LudumFans says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

Very addictive game.

The graphics are awesome and the control is perfect.

I had some problems running the game, I don't know why but sometimes the game freezes.

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

Looks nice, but i do'nt get the game ^((

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38am

Very original idea. I love the art!

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59am

Nice little game. For me the controls were a bit laggy, what makes it harder to move. But the graphics and sounds were great! Congratultions on such a good work!

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30am

My head hurts from playing this. Great job! Really nice visuals and sound, addicting gameplay.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Hey Chris!

Always a pleasure to see your new games. This one was a bit laggy and it crashed a few times, which is a pitty, since it gets quite hard to enjoy it :(

I think it was an interesting design choice to let the player set the pace, if they want to get a high score they'll have to be very fast and the game gets harder. Simple but it works pretty well.

Art is great as always :)

great job!

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Great job as always rogueNoodle! Fun game and your graphics work is always on point! I found some bugs with this game, particularly when I restarted the old board didn't get removed.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Really interesting idea. However, the movement seemed to be very choppy and jarring most times, occasionally freezing altogether. With that, it really killed the pacing of the game for me.

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Really cool idea. But my game seems to crash every now and then...

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

really well done. there's something disorienting about the quick transitions and the alternating colours i think. I found i had to double check my move a lot. I love the factory stamp placing the new player on restart, and the meat grinder sound when you fail.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

Simple game, but beautifully executed!

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51am

For what you were able to execute this was a good try. The only problem I had is that trying to do it faster was really hard because of the alternating colors. It would have been better if the holes had a consistent color instead of changing all the time.

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:35pm

OK this was evil to have to survive to get the score... but then when I finally made it (161 score) I was not logged IN! Good entry. Frustrating as usual. It would have been nice to be rewarded a little more when you made it to the end of the timer. Oh, and here's a crazy idea: time runs slower if you are really quick on the treadmill!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:46am

Love the aesthetics, but after the third time it crashed even on low settings I gave up on playing.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27pm

I shooted 5 stars for you're game because:
-reminds me the Black Mirror(the one with a bicycles)
-very nice colors, simply and clean
-inovative mechanics, and I had fund with it, really
-I've beated all my friends with my highscore)

jerombd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:49pm

As simple as an old Game & Watch (but prettier) and still challenging!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Hopefully you guys are aware that this will be a hit on the mobiles stores. Loved it.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:36am

Really awesome looking entry!! Very solid overall as well :D It did crash a few times on the higher settings, but I enjoyed it nonetheless - great job!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:36pm

The idea is great, it's the essence of procedurally generated games. Unfortunately, it crash every 10 seconds, on both versions (checked on Chrome/FF, Win10).

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:20pm

good use of the theme, a bit hard but very nice!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Simple to pick up but so incredibly addictive it's hard to stop. I really like how the death animation was done (Was rather funny as well).

hexagore says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Outstanding! Great visuals, interesting and infuriating mechanic. No idea why this messes with my brain so much though. It's REALLY HARD.

Neil says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Could not finish it as it freezes every now and then. Still, looks and feels really nice and it is a good match for the theme. I like that I can control how fast I want to go to get a higher score.

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Awesome! Love the way the music keeps matching on regardless of the main gameplay - nice touch.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:53am

wow this thing was so hard to get to 1:00. i wish it saved your score. i was like 120 or something, and that was just trying to not go fast.

Zyow says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:48am

Nice idea with cool graphics but sometimes the game freeze .

FrederickK says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:02am

Simple and polished.
Could have a highscore.
Good job!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:47pm

it's great! Feels like it should be some real life object game. Any chance for downloadable version?

Ithildin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Great idea and nice graphics and sound. Unfortunately after around 10 movements or so the game freezes (haven't played the lo-fi version, though) :S

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Really nice game. The graphics and colour palette were fantastic. Also nice use of the theme, great entry!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:49am

great work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]