Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Semi-Industrial Witchcraft

by f7f5 - Compo Entry

To react to the competition from countries with lower wages,
you're trying to move your magic potion business into a semi-industrial
format, but you're not sure you got things exactly right.

You need to collect the right ingredients - Bat and Spider, it's a really simple recipe - and add them
to the cauldron. Any other ingredient will degrade the quality of the mix
and possibly cause awful side effects.

At the same time, you need to fill in the vials with the potions - be careful
not to waste any liquid!

Use "Q" to grab an ingredient from the line and "P" to fill the vial.

Points are scored for vials that reach distribution with a good quality potion,
so keep an eye on the bars left of the cauldron. A red Poison bar means the
current mix is toxic, and yellow bat/spider bars means the mix is not well
balanced.

Wasted (empty) vials and bad potions will lower your score. If deliver
a bad series of vials, the distributer will go away and you'll have to
close the shop. Keep an eye on the smiley Crystal Ball - it tells you
how happy the market is, currently.

Press SPACE to begin and to restart.

Graphics were mostly hand-drawn on Infinte Design and the music was created
with Fake Music Generator. Sounds effects generated with jfxr.

Enjoy!

Software used to build this game:
Chrome, Firefox
ImpactJS
Kate
Audacity
jfxr - http://jfxr.frozenfractal.com/#
Fake Music Generator - http://www.fakemusicgenerator.com/
ffmpeg
Infinte Design
Pinta
Gimp
jQuery
Google App Engine


This work is GPL3 (except for the Impact library).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#179Humor3.11
#305Audio3.03
#361Innovation3.35
#418Theme3.81
#424Fun3.23
#475Mood2.96
#570Overall3.13
#790Graphics2.45

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33am

The game idea is really good. The fun would be even better if i wouldn't always grap two things at once and if they would come by even faster.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

The grabbing of 2 things at once makes the game pretty unplayable. Love the music thought, adds a great deal to the humorous mood of the game.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Once I understood the gist of the game, it was pretty fun. I like how chaotic it was. I think your game would benefit from a splash screen of sorts-- for me, it starts on a black screen and I have to hit space to start. Oh, and the score doesn't reset when you restart the game. The music is perfect, BTW! Nice game.

garygreen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I liked the back story to this, and it's a tricky little game. :-)

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:18am

Too hard to focus on two totally different, fast moving things on opposite sides of the screen at the same time

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:49pm

I liked this game a lot, it was really fun and addictive, hard though but really fun. Great job!

eric777 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Very pleasing graphics. Great concept, fun to play and executed really well. Difficulty ramped up nicely. Very good job working with the two-button theme.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Very cute and tricky little game.
I have had fun to play it!
Well done!

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Great idea, but I'm bad at multitasking so it's really hard for me to keep up with the game. I wish the graphics were animated, I think that would add a lot to the game.

Charzendat says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:04pm

I enjoyed that very much. It was very challenging having to keep an eye on the bottles, the ingredients and the balance all at the same time. It could easily become frustrating but you made it fun.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Pretty fun entry plus I liked the hand drawn graphics but the top assembly line definitely needs to run as smooth as the bottom one (felt too staggered at times).

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Enjoyed. Pace really gets higher with time as fun. Well done!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Hey i liked it!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Simple game, yet surprisingly addictive; I can see this being popular with kids, actually. The backstory is funny and original. I like that it speeds up with time. The music is excellent, though the sound effects are a bit too loud.

The graphics need work. They're not without charm, but they're lacking clarity: for example, I wasn't expecting the potion to come out of that end of the pipe, and it cost me a few vials figuring it out.

A bug: the score didn't reset itself after I died. Also, some ingredients are spaced so closely that you can't avoid grabbing both at the same time. I also found a bug where the hand would get stuck and glitch at the top of the screen.

Those problems aside, I played this a lot of times, so the gameplay is addictive enough.

If you make a post-compo version, ingredients with different effects would be cool (for example, a rare one that counteracts toxicity).

srakowski says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:57am

I was pretty confused at first, but this is a pretty stellar game. Very difficult to keep pace. Well done.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Cute little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

SusanTheCat says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:38pm

I love the music! What a great idea for a game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]