Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Treevolution

by Hackingroelz - Compo Entry

You play as a growing tree. You must defend yourself by shooting seed bombs at the lumberjacks. A/D to aim.

NOTE: If you're on Mac, use the run.sh file. Otherwise, just click on the jar file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#371Humor2.61
#431Audio2.73
#559Mood2.86
#640Graphics2.81
#683Theme3.46
#712Innovation2.73
#754Overall2.92
#806Fun2.62

Comments

greenscreen says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Very nice concept. I love the idea of tree fighting against lumberjacks :D

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29am

Nice idea, even though it seemed a little unfinished and I felt like I needed some kind of indicator to know where I would shoot. But it's nice. :)

Hackingroelz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47am

Which parts did think felt unfinished? Also, I felt an indicator wasn't really necessary since you're constantly shooting (and it makes it a bit more challenging). Thanks for you feedback!

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Intersting game

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Cool game but needed some kind of health bar to show how poorly I was doing.

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Simple concept works fine, maybe needs some variation in the gameplay to become more addictive. Good !

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I was unable to run it on my Mac: http://pastebin.com/3F0p5uT3

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Cool and unique idea with a good message. I experienced a slight issue with a big black object appearing when I rotated at certain directions, but other than that it was great.

Hackingroelz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21pm

@KoalaBot Try updating Java

RoyallK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25am

That was pretty awesome! Loved the idea, the audio and the little "Bleop" when they hit you, Gives it a cute and family friendly feeling to it :D, Great work.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11am

The game concept and idea is cool but I feel like there should be an explanation/reason that a tree is able to fire projectiles :) this is a nice start though

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45am

I just loved the idea. Great job!

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Nice entry, love simple games, and the music is pretty cool as well :)

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Looks cool, but gets boring quickly

thelasthour says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:09am

I liked it. Really nice tree model.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:15am

The lumberjacks has treated us like garbage, slaughtered all my friends, but now the tide has turned. I have my ultimate move... seeds!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]