Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snowball Extravaganza

by mackthehobbit - Compo Entry

** This game was designed for and should be played in Google Chrome for the best results. The worst graphical problems in Firefox have been fixed, but there is still some minor clunkiness in the background and severe lag happens when there are a lot of entities. IE is untested. Please ignore any browser-related problems when rating! **

This is a game about snowballs. Who doesn't love snowballs?

Mouse1 will roll your snowball towards the cursor, while Mouse2 allows you to throw a small snowball (at the cost of some snow!). Rolling over objects that are smaller than you will make you grow.

If you find a house, try rolling over it! You may need to throw snowballs to pack it down to size first.

Your snowball is prone to melting, so watch out for bombs! These nasty little goblins keep throwing them... If you find a goblin tower, be sure to wreck it!

Crush goblins, destroy houses, and most importantly: have fun!

Written in JavaScript without any libraries. Currently, a mouse with two buttons is required to play, but a solution for touch-screens etc. may be added if requested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#104Fun3.74
#104Theme4.18
#133Humor3.31
#218Overall3.59
#292Innovation3.45
#297Graphics3.46
#359Mood3.14
#677Audio1.63

Comments

Sublustris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

Nice idea :)

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:23am

Very clever idea! I love the small Katamari influence. :)

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39am

Haha, I love the derpy pixel santa. Fun and very cute art!

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15am

Thanks for the feedback! I've just done the first test in a browser other than Chrome (Firefox) and noticed some terrible graphical issues. I'm trying to fix that up now...

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32am

Ok; the worst of Firefox's issues are fixed, but I think the background scrolling seems more clunky (which I won't be able to fix). Any reports on IE/Safari? I suspect IE will have stitching issues etc. too.

dusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03am

wow.. that was something :)
grew my blocky ball so it didn't fit on screen.. then got to <1 FPS
good work

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17am

Great idea!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18am

hahahaha, nice game!, remind me of katamari

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18am

Funny game. Kinda of reminds me of skifree. Can see this becoming an endless runner on mobile!

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22am

good christmassy fun :D

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09am

A good time. Hope I never in a house that can be taken down by tossing snowballs.

The katamari vibe is well placed here!

I like your graphics. The little goblins tunneling out of the ground are fun, and those are some nice jaggedy purple mountains you have in the background there.

Was there audio??

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

Nice idea to have attacks make you weaker. Too me a bit to figure out that you could actually destroy houses though. Feedback on that would've been nice.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Great idea incorporation both themes!

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Unfortunately, there is no audio. I was going to add some BFXR sounds ('whump' for snow etc) and a quick chiptune, but I didn't get time. I spent a lot of the weekend doing other stuff, and I only started adding towers 45 minutes or so before the deadline...
@wuppy29 Houses will show wear in the form of snow on the roof and walls. If you're big enough, you can also roll straight over them.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Cool game. love how the characters get stuck on snowball :)

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Really really solid entry, so much fun, runs beautifully.

Really can't find anything negative to say except that having to throw lots of snow at houses before I can squish them gets a bit repetitive and stops me from just rolling around squishing things which is where the real fun in this game lies. I would love to see hills added too.

Nice to see another snowball based game :)

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:05pm

All this positive feedback (and some problems I'm aware of :P) makes me want to update this post-LD. I think it could do well on mobile: I was thinking there could be different game modes.

Survival would be like the current game, but more difficult and focused on not dying. Sandbox (or snowbox) would just be rolling around and achieving hilarity, and there'd be an endless mode based on getting distance too (maybe down hills?)

It'd be a complete rewrite of course, but could be fun!

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Great idea and I love the pixel art.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Pretty funny :D

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13pm

2D Katamari! Love it!

tanjent says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57pm

mack: You should def. continue with this. I think you should go all in on a christmas theme (like jingle bell music etc.) snow blizzards/snow castle bosses, fights with other balls ... Perhaps you could sell it to some company that needs an ad-app/promotion for the next holiday season. The basic idea is very simple so anyone should be able to get it instantly.. And you can cute it up/spice it up to infinity with IAP and upgrades etc.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:13am

very nice game - great controls - great idea - well done

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Nice graphics, cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:17am

Was a bit unbalanced; after I was larger than the towers I could just keep rolling in one direction forever.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]