Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Trees...or something

by Gamepopper - Jam Entry

Move Around (WASD),

Plant Trees (J),

Water Trees (L), let them grow

and Chop Trees (K).

Play for as long as you like, there's no time limit.
Collect watering cans that can make trees grow quicker, or let the rain do the growing.

This was the result of less than 6 hours of work, reason being that I decided to spend the weekend away and finished most of it in the late evenings or on the train.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#490Mood(Jam)3.24
#677Theme(Jam)3.51
#699Graphics(Jam)3.09
#901Overall(Jam)2.85

Comments

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21am

Nice game! If I try to play the embedded version here I get an ExpiredToken error.

philipp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Nice litle game, collision box of trees maybe a little bit too big so pathing got hard once you had a lot of trees

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

A really nice game for six hours. I miss a log count objetive or something like that.

Indiestry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Works fine, as said before the trees colision baxes are slighly too big, it's easy too get stuck. Another easy way around that would be making the player able to walk past choped trees trunks.
I liked the watering cans idea, they are a good reason to walk around the world.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Nice 2D game. Quite relaxing ;)

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Hmm.. planted some trees, chopping etc, pretty impressive for 6 hours of work, but I wish there could an ending of some sort.? Dunno what it could be. Good job anyway :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

cool forest simulator.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28pm

This is really nice :)
I like that there isn't a goal or anything, you just make your little forest however you like.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nice game for short time making it fair play :) , the backing sounds were soothing :)

Well Done!

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Simple and relaxing game, I love it :) good job <3

Xanjos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:57pm

There wasn't much in terms of gameplay but it's a pretty relaxing entry. I loved the rain effects plus I like how the field is procedurally generated every time you play.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:50am

Nice little entry, the tree hitboxes seem to have a little problem as you sometimes can't pass between trees where it seems you could, other than that good job :)

andyman404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Congrats for finishing! Sounds like you had your own little TrainJam.

Gornova says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Relaxing game, lack of gameplayer btw

Chewie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Relaxing simulator of forest keeper =)

-Collision boxes of trees are blocking to much of area around it
-Can stuck between trees and no way out
-Would be nice to have some mechanics to spend collected logs

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58am

Ow, congratulation for your game! Greate pixel design.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

Jajo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I couldn't help but rate all 5 stars! Honestly, it isn't what you would conventionally call "fun" but it was rather relaxing: birds tweeting; rain falling; trees growing. Graphics were beautiful. There was the odd collision difficulty, but nothing game-breaking (unless you decide to surround yourself with trees).

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:59pm

I AM THE TREE LOGGER! Good stuff, especially for less than 6 hours. I'm curious what it would've turned into if you had more time.

Esjaji says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Interesting concept! I wish there could be some kind of goal, but it's actually quite relaxing to play. It's certainly impressive for only six hours of work!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:31pm

fun and very relaxing gameplay, simple idea, but well executed.

great job for only 6 hours! :)

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Impressive for 6 hours, but it would be nice to have a way to get rid of stumps, maybe by spending logs. Or maybe there is, and I just didn't notice it. Very serene experience though.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:40pm

It's a cool little game you have made! Love the background sound!

Paco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:26am

You could make some DLC with more trees, flowers, and seasons :P

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:35am

nice bit of relaxing game. shame that you didn't put more hours into it

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:52pm

For six hours it was actually really good. Even though there isn't much too it, it was well done and solid. Very nice little relaxing game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]