Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bonsai Growth Simulator

by cjacobwade - Compo Entry

Bonsai Growth Simulator is a relaxing game meant to simulate the experience of growing a bonsai tree over many years.

Made by @Cjacobwade

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Mood4.38
#46Graphics4.29
#73Theme4.25
#206Overall3.61
#211Innovation3.61
#726Fun2.79
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Smooth ! Love procedural generation, nice enry :)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

I really enjoyed this. It was a nice experience.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36am

Wow, just lovely, really really well done. My hat is off to you

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:47am

It captures a really unique feeling. Relaxing and interesting. I enjoy it. Giving more control on growing and adjust camera to make it always focus on the top may help.

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52am

Sublime.

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54am

I love it!

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55am

Lol mine all look like snakes. Cool concept though. Definitely need the relaxing pace and sound of this after the Compo.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

nice job! indeed relaxing... although perhaps so relaxing I had a hard time understanding what my input was actually doing :P

Bemmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

Why is there balls of pulsating beef growing on our bonsai? :D

It's peaceful, but we couldn't quite figure out how to use it. When I click on a beef it starts bouncing around. I can rotate, but clicking on the camera and bonsai buttons didn't seem to do anything.

Graphically very pretty and seems innovative.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

Wow, beautiful!

cjacobwade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

@bemmu Thanks for playing! Clicking the camera and tree buttons export screenshots and the tree's mesh/textures respectively. Check the folder where you unzipped the game!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Great entry. How I was affecting the growth was confusing at first, but I got the hang of it. We had very similar ideas. My entry is about growing bonsai too.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

Very relaxing. I only manage to drive my branches into the ground, though. Still, love it!

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19pm

it seemed to grow upwards too fast for me. I wonder if that is a frame dependency problem. really nice entry

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Pretty cool idea, nice chilled out mood.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Very clever and unique idea! Thank you for such an experience!

Fadobo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Very pretty. It's a bit hard to control the growth with the ever changing camera angle, but it makes for nice organic trees.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]