Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rolla Grolla Arena

by Xanjos - Jam Entry

Desktop versions are probably recommended as the WebGL version may have some stability issues.

Updates:

17/12/15 - Fixed a minor typo where the instructions were actually written the wrong way.

20/12/15 - Took out the unnecessary debug files from the Windows build so the download size is much smaller now :)

IMPORTANT STUFF:
This is a multiplayer game which requires at least 2 people to play so grab a friend/sibling/relative/etc. (The game supports up to 4 people so the more the merrier)
Controllers are most definitely recommended for this game (I haven't accounted for sudden controller disconnections though so do be aware).
If you're playing the desktop version, I recommend not to change the controls when you start the game up.

And here we are with Ludum Dare Entry "Lucky" Number 7.

After using a different game engine last Ludum Dare, this time I've gone back to my usual choice of using Unity. Since this is the first (and probably only) time there's been two themes for this Ludum Dare, I wanted to create something that makes use of both themes.

This is also the first time I made a multiplayer entry for a game jam(Although to be fair I did make a 2 player game for MiniLD 58 -the only difference is this one supports more than 2 players-)and the first time I've created a game with multiple controller support out of the box (although it was a bit of a hassle trying to map inputs properly since not all controllers have the same button mappings).

There may be some slight issues with collisions as the physics system is a bit buggy in Unity 5.3 otherwise it's perfectly playable.

Mac and Linux builds are available on my GameJolt and itch.io pages.

Don't forget to leave a comment as well so I can play and rate your entries too :)

Controls:

Left Accel: Q/A/Left Arrrow/LB(Xbox Controller)/L1 (PS4 Controller)
Right Accel: D/Right Arrow/RB (Xbox Controller)/R1 (PS4 Controller)

To jump, press both buttons at the same time.

Game has been tested with Xbox and PS4 pads but other controllers should work. Just find out which is Button 4(Windows/Linux) or 13(Mac) for Left Accel and Button 5(Windows/Linux) or 14(Mac) for Right Accel.

Instructions:

Press the Left Accel button to move your ball to the left
Press the Right Accel button to move your ball to the right
Press both Left Accel and Right Accel to make your ball jump
Your ball grows in size when you are moving and shrink when you are not

Survive for as long as possible by knocking opposing balls out of the arena.
Every time your ball is knocked out of the arena, you lose some energy and will respawn in 3 seconds
If you run out of energy then you cannot respawn and therefore you are out of the game
The last ball standing wins

Tools Used:

Language: C#
IDE: Visual Studio
Library/Framework: Unity
Sounds: bfxr, BoscaCoeil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#663Innovation(Jam)2.93
#715Audio(Jam)1.89
#910Overall(Jam)2.84

Comments

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Sad there is no CPU to fight against, but it's a neat concept. Reminds me of the Mario Party minigames of n64.
Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

The game was alright, had some issues with gameplay controllers (I'm using an Xbox 360 controller), such as no analogue stick input and left and right d-pad controls are cleary inverted.

The idea was fun, I can imagine two or three people playing this for a few minutes.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Cool concept, bet it could be fun to play against 3 others!

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01am

Fun idea, and minimalistic. The audio makes me want to hurt people though. Could definitely see this being made into a proper brawler, although the friction probably needs to be reworked for that to work properly. Fun game though, but that audio-loop is just.. sooo.. annoying..

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:48am

@TeamDromedare: Yeah, I don't even know why I kept that audio loop in the first place (since I'm no audio person). Even I found it annoying (and I made that damn loop in the first place :|)

Rosain_f says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:36am

Amazing !

Yamzho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Good game concept, I just had to turn off the sound ! Haha ! GG !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:47pm

This is a neat idea :)
Very fun to play!
Some kind of AI to play against would have been nice though.
Also, the controls in the menu were reversed for me (Firefox 42, Web version embedded on this page). So I had to press right to mark as ready and left to cancel. In the game itself everything was as it should be.
Also, the music gets quite samey after a while, some kind of option to turn it off / down would have been nice :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03pm

@zedutchgandalf: The controls to join/leave are actually correct. I just realised I had them written wrong D:

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:03pm

The theme usage is pretty cool, interesting ideas combined. However over all it feels like it needs a bit more design care:

- The controls don't feel "tight", I don't feel like I am in control of my character. The initial startup speed is slow for too long and the top speed is mad, and turning around isn't even an option really once you get going.
- The jump is unreliable - It seems you have to release both buttons at *exactly* the same time - the exact same frame, which is unrealistic for anyone to consistently do, which means frustration. I suggest a solve by flagging when both buttons are down, then flagging when both buttons are released, to trigger the jump.

And even then multiplayer games are tough for LD! It's hard to get a feel for it for players!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Simple, but really fun. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

Hackbug says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Your idea is fun, simply concept but cool. I like your game but the song..... XD A little boring ^^

That's cool to play with controler, i love that :D

May be with more time you can add Bots for play alone :)

For me it's a funny super smash bros :D

maunovaha says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice game, but I didn't have anyone to play it with.. (too many kilometers away) :( .. so in that sense, I failed to unlock it's full potential. The game seemed to run pretty smooth thought, music was a little bit too repetitive. But anyway, nice entry :)

FireTwin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02am

Had a lot of fun playing 2 player and we had a blast! liked the way you made it so you pressed both buttons to jump, but it would nicer if you would jump higher so to avoid your foes. Probably best to leave the music out, but enjoyed the sound effects. :) Good job mate!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:49am

Cool! You guys should take a look at Towerfall, I think this has potential, maybe even to go on steam. Congrats on using both themes guys!

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:32am

I have to say, I haven't seen a whole lot of multiplayer stuff so far so props for that. Now that the jam is over and you're not restricted to 2 buttons I'd say a little more control on the left/right accelerations and a jump would do this game well. Anyway, excellent job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27am

Cool idea, a Smash Bros. feel with rolly physics. Graphics are simple but effective. Agree with rogberth about the Mario Party thing - like a 2D Bumper Balls. Music could be a little less repetitive. Interesting start.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:56am

Interesting concept. Controls need work though.

Yakka says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Cool concept, but really hard ^^. I suspect there was a few bugs of speed acceleration because sometimes, my character was dashing for no reason.

krashja says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Nice concept, i played with my mate, and its funny :) the sound a bit loud :P but great gameplay! :D

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:01pm

There are some issues with minor bugs, but I think the way you've turned the 2 button controls into a mechanic is really neat and a good idea.

Wish we could try it 4 player!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:44am

kids thought this was fun - i felt like i was penalized for getting someone out of the arena because i would follow them - maybe a boundry or reset for the remaining player - nice game

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:48am

The effects of bouncing off someone, and missing when you tried to launch at someone else, made for some hilarious results. Felt like it became more about trying to stay on as long as possible, and wondering if it was worth the risk of trying to knock someone else out. Good fun!

AsixJin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:42am

Hate that this is a 2-player game, but the idea sounds great. I'd work on it more.

hexagore says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I had a play on this but because it's multiplayer I don't think it's really fair to judge it on anything except the audio and the theme - it *looks* like a pretty neat attempt to make a multiplayer combat game with just two buttons each which sounds very cool. :)

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Congratulations for making a multiplayer game. I like the simple idea and it's fun to play. Sadly it's really easy to kill yourself and the music could use some variation.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Nice little multiplayer game - can be quite addictive playing with your friends! They ended up getting quite violent when I was winning... :p

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:51am

We had a ton of fun playing this and experimenting with the physics. We managed to get Two (IIIV) people on xbox 360 controllers and 1 guy on keyboard (me). We got a lot of decent laughs out of this one. My first instinct was to make fun of the song, but it was just so damn catchy and I couldn't stop humming along with it :) Thank you so much for making this!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:57am

Cool concept - and quite fun with two people.
But I have to say, the very short music loop went on my nerves pretty quickly :) [I really shouldn't complain, I can't do it any better.. that's why my sheep don't have background music.]
Also the webversion seems to be oversized by just a few pixels in chrome (you get scrollbars around the game).

WeirdMind says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Nice concept and it makes a lot of fun. Just the music is a bit ... . But overall the game is amazing.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:42pm

The jumping controls were hard, so a non-two button version would be nice. I didn't like the music, but the slamming into people at high speeds was fun.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:05am

If you leave out the debug files, your game will be a lot smaller.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:09am

@Echo Team: Heard a lot about the whole debug files thing. I'll probably do that now :)

dlowe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:56pm

I loved the idea, but we found very quickly that (at least with just 2 players) it was too easy to end up deadlocked. Also way too easy to self destruct. With a bit of balancing, this could be a fun party game. Thanks!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Hey! Had no friends or controllers around, so I had to play a few rounds on my own.

The concept might be a bit too shallow, just moving left and right on a versus platformer doesn't give the players many strategic options. Control isn't really polished, and playing the game is kinda confusing.

Congrats on finishing the jam and making the game!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:39pm

@Lupipe: I'm guessing you skipped the instructions but you can jump by pressing both buttons at the same time.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:58am

This is pretty fun! The controls are a bit touchy, so it's easy to die on accident. That adds to the tension, and nervousness of the battle, but also the frustration. The music was a bit grating on me after a few minutes, I think it would need to be a bit in the lower register so it feels more in the background. The bumps of the players felt good.

piper82 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:06pm

finaly got someone to test with and we had a blast. its simple and minimalistic but the banter was real! just need a bit of polish in the graphics and audio department. and some power-ups for more banter and broken friendships! good job.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

The music was perhaps better left out. I don't have any friends (around) so had to play with lefty against righty. Given that you can't move up might be cool to have the level scroll up with new platforms popping in from the bottom now and then. Good to see multiplayer stuff at LD.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:17am

Cool game ! The music is a bit annoying at some point but we enjoyed playing.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:18pm

System requirements:
- friends


D:

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Still, physicsy brawler are fun!!

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Nice idea! Need a button to turn off the sound ^^! Good job!

Joror says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Interesting local multi-player game - simple but effective. Would require some more interaction to bring it up a notch. (some way to go up again, or powerups)
Sound... well that needs some changing. :)

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:41am

Great concept but needs to be polished!
Give me the feel of smash bros, if there are AIs can play with would be better.

wehard says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Nice one! Too bad you can't play against computer player..

Big Cow says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Nice use of both themes! Well done on creating a two-player game. Graphics were a bit simple but I liked the cool particle effects :)

Jace239 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:37am

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/29/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-04/

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Nice idea in here - but too difficult since both players mostly just roll off the sides/bottom.

Muel says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:02am

It needs a few tweaks on controls and physics (and on the music, plz)

But, dude...
...you made an Super Smash Bros in 3 days!

Seriously. I just discovered that channel called "Extra Credits" on Youtube, saw them first on the Unity site. In on of the videos, they talk about "minimum viable product".
Your game is a little above of "minimum" accordingly with their idea, but, that's it, your game is that game's core.

If you want to see it...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvCri1tqIxQ

LeReveur says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I have no friend near to help testing it, but for what I've seen by fighting with myself, this game seems to be entertaining. However, I have to say that sometimes it's better to have no sound instead of a short repetitive one... :P

justinooncx says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Simple game, but really difficult to play. The jumping is a bit finicky. Then again, I was playing the slightly unstable HTML5 build.

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:39am

I don't have a second person to play against so i can't rate it, but the growing/shrinking concept seems interesting. The music is really grating, though.

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Nice game but needs better audio, great with friends!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:40am

awesome

Beavl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:46pm

We really like the growing/shrinking while moving/not-moving game mechanics. Perhaps adding hazards to the level so as to moving is not that good could be a nice touch. This entry could turn out an amazing party game with slightly better level design. Congrats on it!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:27pm

I can't rate the fun factor as I didn't have any opponent to play against. But even without an opponent the controls were difficult to master. Jumping is hard.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:18am

Good idea, looks really fun with three more people

g12345 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Wow, a kinda smash bros game. Nice idea and done pretty well. As everyone else already have said, it needs some more polish (especially on the audio and the jumping part), but i can imagine this being a fun multiplayer game.

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:50am

First off, I didn't play with anyone else. Kind of hypocritical considering I also made a 4-player brawler, but whatever. I'll try to rate fairly, and won't mess with the fun category!

Very interesting idea gameplay wise. The controls were well done, I like how you solved the jumping and moving problem. Better than what I came up with, hahaha. As said before, the music loop is awful. The sound effects are nice though.

Pixel-boy says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:02am

Nobody to play with me unfotunatly but brawler with just 2 buttons is a cool concept and seems fun to play with others players well done !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]