Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ladder Grow

by ranmaru90 - Compo Entry

Made in about less than half a day. There are only 2 buttons to control the game. Left and right arrow keys, or A and D keys, or Z and X keys, or left-click and right-click.

Stop and wait for the monster to be gone when you see the flashing red door.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#316Humor2.74
#468Audio2.65
#490Innovation3.14
#514Theme3.69
#617Fun2.97
#632Overall3.06
#644Mood2.74
#798Graphics2.43

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

I really enjoyed this game. At first, I was really unsure of what I was supposed to do xD I got up to 170 before failing. Good job!

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20am

Nice idea, and crazy music :)

utoxin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24am

Not bad, but it seemed more like just an endurance challenge than anything. Also, I would have made the sounds flow better, instead of cutting off the way they do.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24am

Control matches content. Nice tension and pacing. Great concept!

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33am

Nice game :) I got pretty far. It's tense when you have a monster blocking your path and another coming up the ladder after you. The music adds a lot to it.

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05am

Looked a bit dull at first, but I found it really fun to play. Super easy to get your head around and just enough challenge to keep going :)

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

that is one hell of a scary demon hamster

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I got to 420 and 7 escapes before giving up, a nice addicting game. With some fluff and power-ups, it would fit in perfectly in an app store :D

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Great game, but now my fingers hurt a lot ;)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55pm

There is no restart button after you die :D

Fun game!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:25am

Not sure I call the game over sounds easy to listen to music but that was an interesting game. I liked the smooth climbing animation. Not sure how to get pass the red door with the monster though.

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:30am

Thanks for playing my game everybody! @Starspell actually you're suppose to stop and wait for the monster to disappear before continuing the climb (while hoping that there's nobody chasing you from behind). :D

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:33am

Nice concept, but how to escape the monster in front?

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:35am

@AkirAssasin you can't. You have to stop and wait for it to be gone. :)

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:03am

Audio was trippy and not in a good way. Great idea for a game though.

Yword says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:31am

Really fun and great idea! Well done!

ramoncb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:40am

I reached to 500... with only one escape! xD

It's really an endurance challenge, maybe in the future would be cool to have power ups, jumps from ladders, etc. ;-)

Good job!

MartianGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Alluring & addictive qualities - you are somewhat of a magician for making it in less than 1/2 a day ;)

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:45am

I really liked the concept, pretty smart. Could definitely see this continued!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Quite easy, but I have to say that I love the Game Over song. :D

bob_fish says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Decent work. Could do with some music and a bit more of an introduction / tutorial along with a restart button. Well done!

JamesMowery says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:58am

Nice work. I made it over 500 before I just stopped.

Mar 29, 2016 @ 12:56am

Simple game, well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]