Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Last of Egg

by SHLFStudios - Jam Entry

Ludum Dare 34 Entry - 2 Buttons Only



The Last of Egg
by Shudda Hadda Lotta Fun Studios


A little short of our grandiose vision, we managed to complete the jam in the Nick of time... who laughs last now Nick?? Hmmm????

The Last of Egg is a survival horror game. You play as the last remaining egg struggling to survive. Collect weapons, find crafting supplies, and avoid being attacked by the mutants of the land, known as "Sizzles". Will you ever get home? Will you ever see Claire again? It's what's inside that counts my friend... so are you soft? Or are you Hard-Boiled.



Controls -
Left Arrow - Roll Left
Right Arrow - Roll Right
Both Keys - Egg Hop




Alex Schuster - Design, Programming, Music, UI/FX

Mikhail Delinois - Art, Character Design, Voice

Brian Greenwood - Programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#31Humor(Jam)4.07
#92Audio(Jam)3.91
#101Mood(Jam)3.88
#205Graphics(Jam)4.03
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#357Fun(Jam)3.35
#418Theme(Jam)3.78
#456Innovation(Jam)3.22

Comments

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12pm

hahahaha that's just awesome!

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:41am

This was amazing. If this were a fully fledged game on Steam I'd definitely buy it.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37pm

The graphics and mood is amazing, the gameplay felt a little clunky though. The fact that you are followed by some enemies that kill you in one hit and that you start all over again every time you die doesn't help either. It should have more of a learning curve to it. But apart from this, it was fun.

Andre Luiz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:40pm

hahahahaha very funny guys congratulations !

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:18am

Interesting game and pretty fun. I found myself getting stuck on some of the inclines.

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:30am

The amazing sequel to "I am Bread", eh ;)?

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Lol, cool parody of the last of us, nice and atmospheric, amused that playing for an egg.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Nice parody, graphics, moods :)

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:19pm

That was pretty wonderful....

bessdlan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:23pm

ah ah funny game ^^
good job guys ;)

acotis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:37am

I can't make if over the first hill or past the first monster :(

sausage_squad says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:38am

I just played with an egg wearing a beard... Good Job

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:57am

What an interesting idea for a parody. I love the 6 years later and the beard. This made me smile so much!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:58am

A funny, scary, and challenging game. A wonderful blend! Good job.

KBF123 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:28am

Very eggs-quisite

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:22am

The jumping! THE JUMPING. The delay was too long, and I thought it was buggy when I was on the ground and couldn't jump again.

Besides that, it's pretty, but it also pretty much does nothing. So er, nice parody?

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:48am

Loved it. Have some stars!

Larzan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:17am

Haha, great idea, full fun and theme rating for sure, good idea on the button combo movement.
More levels please :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:56am

Loved it. The concept is hilariously absurd, and execution was awesome. I can totally see the next Goat Simulator or I am Bread here.

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:58am

Hahaha, very nice mood guys :P

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Hahaha the egg beard. Hilarious take on one of my favorite games. I will say the jumping felt awkward, wish there was a dedicated jump button. But I know you were keeping in line with theme. Great work!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:02pm

The atmosphere is nice. But I couldn't manage to progress a lot :(. Nice idea by the way :)

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Attractive game)I like the mood and graphics. I think, using the egg, you could better cover the topic of growth ^_^

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Hahaha that was pretty good! Egg with beard really cracked me up (eh EH?)
Fun game, shame it's so short

XenosNS says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Brilliant. Eggsellent.

ruerob says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:28pm

hadda lotta fun with this!

Clavus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Ha, that was great!

ss64games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Heh heh heh. Sausage zombie demons are really what made this. Favorite funny game so far. I need to go make some breakfast.

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Great entry! The audio adds a lot to this game, I especially like the voice acting. It's interesting to see that good sounds are enough to make the game scary even with eggs and sausages.

AndreasL says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Kind of a bizarre game!
There's not much to it but I quite enjoyed the weirdness of it.

Good graohics and music!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:56pm

The egg physics made it surprisingly hard to go up the really steep hills but I really enjoyed this fun parody.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:07am

L.o.l! Great job man, it was perfect !

peterthehe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Brilliant

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Looks and sounds great, and a very funny idea, but it's a shame there isn't more to the gameplay.

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Haha! So awesome! XD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]