Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Turbo Pig

by Crazi456 - Jam Entry

Theme 2 Button controls.
Guide the pig home!

Controls:
Left Click - Draw/Place
Right Click - Toggle Item

The tools for moving your pig to avoid obsticals are a crayon, a trampoline, and a speed booster. Cycle through the tools with right click. Left click to draw with the crayon when the crayon cursor is shown. The trampoline and speedbooster can be oriented. Left click and drag to place then orient the trampoline or speedbooster in the direction you drag. The game will pause to allow you to get the orientation that you want! The HUD at the top of the screen shows the remaining uses of the tools as well as a restart button if you get stuck.


Justin Luong
Eric Smith
Michael Kim
Justin Walker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#216Humor(Jam)3.29
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#378Audio(Jam)3.28
#404Graphics(Jam)3.65
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#532Innovation(Jam)3.12
#870Theme(Jam)3.16
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

This game is fun! The artstyle and music are great and the gameplay is very interesting. Great stuff!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Very Cute! Had some trouble placing the trampoline with the screen constantly moving but I liked it!

batzerk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Pretty good! The controls are challenging, though. Drawing something on a screen that's scrolling is hard. Also, right-clicking to cycle through tools is a little cumbersome... I think the better version of this game *isn't* two-button controls. Great job with the aesthetic and music! It has a very consistent sketchbook feel. :)

Orava says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:46am

I done it

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:40am

Aw, pigu <3

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:23am

I've done it!! Had a lot of fun playing it! If there's anything i could point out, it would be that i wish you restarted automatically when you fall off the map

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:29am

This was fun! And I love the style, all the art and audio is great, and the gameplay was enjoyable, I feel like there were a few moments where having to make fast reactions didn't feel like it fit with the style, especially with the green line tool, but I think it works out alright, placing trampolines and boosters was straight-forward enough that it felt like it balanced that out.

Yword says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:57am

Really fun and creative gameplay! I think it will be better if the camera can look further to the right or let the player control the camera manually. Well done!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I loved it! It's a little buggy, but I loved the crayon style. Super cute!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:53am

Loved the graphics and the aesthetics. The music also perfectly complimented the game. The only thing is it was difficult to initially place trampolines and speed boosters when the pig is moving quickly.

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I loved the tree animations! Very bouncy and playful. The game was a lot of fun too. I could see this doing well with it being more fleshed out with more puzzles. Perhaps making the draw tool pause time as well

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:15am

I love the aesthetics of this game. The dancing trees are really cute. However there are some issues with it. In a game like this it is criminal not to auto-restart on falling out of the world and the level design is pretty long in a trial and error game like this. A better design would be to pause the pig's movement at the beginning, let the user place all the objects and crayon down that they want and then allow them to start the pig rolling when they want. Then if they fail you take them back to their last plan and allow them to edit it. Without this it's really frustrating to place until a time constraint - especially when the camera moves up and down with the pig rather than staying the same vertical position.

Regardless of that though I enjoyed this game. Its style is cute and I would have liked to have seen more of it.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

interesting game, but you have bugs, unfortunately. nice pig! )

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:22am

interesting choice for the graphics, also congrats on having it work so well in this little time @w@ this was pretty solid game.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Hard to understand, controls seems not to work

mockthebear says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

^forget about that, i was with two pages open. post on the worng one.

Man i loved the graphics. the colors getting out of the lines.. idk i like this style =]

Jan 17, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Very nice graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/xIPr3jDQjJ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]