Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mystic Temple

by Tipyx - Jam Entry

Me and my buddy Sentsu are proud to show you our game : "Mystic Temple".
You play a tourist who have to flee from an ancien temple, after awake an old, powerful and growing guardian. Will he escape ?

Control : Two buttons, explained in the game :)

Code (by me) : Haxe with FlashDevelop
Art (by Sentsu) : Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#81Graphics(Jam)4.36
#85Overall(Jam)3.91
#102Fun(Jam)3.76
#150Theme(Jam)4.10
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#367Humor(Jam)2.90
#508Audio(Jam)3.02
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57am

Super fun and the art is stellar. Can get a bit dizzying once you really get going.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57am

Nice game! Very hard.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

Hard, but very fun, and nice looking. Well done !

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08am

the controls are a bit difficult, but the graphism and the animations are awesome! so bad I wasn't there to make you a custom music to improve the mood :P

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18pm

nice! love it, love the graphics, great gameplay, well done!

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Really fun and it looks great!

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very good entry, neat and well done! a little bit hard, but very fun.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Tough, but worth it! Great work on this entry!!

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32pm

That was fun! Thanks! Nice concept, it works. Congrats.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I'm a sucker for endless runners! Those quicktime events are really awesome and make the game very fun to play. Lovely graphics also!

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

great game

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

The artwork in the game is absolutely fantastic! Tight controls, frenetic action and really fun, although speed might be a bit too high in our opinion and the fast scrolling makes us a bit dizzy when playing long runs. Fullscreen mode would be awesome, as well as a mobile version. Great job on this entry, congratulations!!!

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36pm

A fun variant on the endless runner concept, with some charming art.

I especially like the two-button QTEs to escape from the various traps you might run into. I haven't seen that done in quite the same way before.

My one critique is that to stay ahead of the guardian, you have to run so fast that the great artwork blurs into a dizzying mess. I wanted to play more, but my eyes hurt too much so I had to stop!

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Oh boy this one is hard. Every time I try to evade one plant I bump int another. The music could be a little bit upbeat/hectic to support the gameplay more. I'm running for my life afterall.
But the graphics and animations are nice.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Nice! Fun to play. I think the game suffers somewhat from the two-button limitation. Separate buttons for jumping and changing lanes up would make it much more intuitive to play.

PaulJs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Nice Game !

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Really nice execution, too bad its not 60 FPS (trollololo) the scrolling induce dizziness. Well done pals !

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40am

This is a really great frantic game. I especially love the frantic escapes you need to be done if caught by a trap.

I do have one suggestion. Given how fast this game runs, some of the moves are a little inconsistent which tripped me up. Specifically, moving up if a double tap up, while down is a single quick tap. This caused me to jump too far down some times, or not actually jump up to the next level. I often tripped up because of this, and didn't get more than 850m in a run. Despite that, this is a beautiful, great game.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Great endless runner, I like how you are able to move between floors with the possibility of going through different paths. Animations were really good too!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Nice graphics and fun concept. Great!

local306 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

I found the refresh rate and object speed made it difficult to see incoming objects. Loving the visuals though!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice generatorr flash game! Cool graphics and AI! Nice entry.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Damn that game is fast! And it's a very nice touch that you can be trapped inside some things but can free yourself again. Really great game! And beautiful graphics!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Very nice and polished entry ! it was quite hard, i couldn't beat it... How many room is there ? :p
It crashed twice after after several games while music was still playing,i'm with firefox...
Very nice pixel art !
Good job!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:03am

Nicely done! As someone who's tried to make a speedy autorunner in flash before I know how difficult that can be. Way to make it happen in such a short time limit. The controls were good, but a little difficult and the enemies could have been a little more spread out, but I really thought this was a very solid entry and made great use of both themes! Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:42am

Really fun! I got a little jumpy with the controls, which made double jumping tough, but I thought the concept of an endless runner with multiple vertical rooms was awesome, if not a little overwhelming :D Great work!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:01pm

sooo hard :3, partly because it's hard to see obstacles with speed and pixel art
but great job overall !

jnharton says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:39am

Seems a bit hard to me, that ancient temple guardian sure is quick on those tentacles. Looks very nice and the helpful hints/indicators on which keys to use were much appreciated. Unfortunately, the screen scroll/movement makes it a little hard to focus at times. Dizzying is one word for it.

Otherwise, excellent work. I think it would make a better 4 button game (UP, DOWN, -LEFT-, -RIGHT-) since the time it took me to realize the keys I need to break free of traps on the first couple runs allowed the guardian to catch up pretty easily.

jnharton says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:41am

Rating

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:08am

Really cool graphics! There's a bit of a problem with sliding vs dropping down a layer but still cool.

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Great job :) Very well-polished and complete. The colour-contrast especially really helps pick things out of the background.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Great graphics!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I liked it, you've got several interesting mechanical with only 2 buttons.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Nice graphics, the gameplay is solid, a bit hard but quite a fun little runner :)

jdoughty says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:42pm

the motion blur made looking ahead a bit difficult, but the game was beautiful and fun!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Very hard but looks lovely and plays great! Good job!

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:31am

Awesome pixel graphics! I bit too hard for me, but yeah.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]