Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sir Croc vs Plantzilla

by Pixelfan Games - Jam Entry

Sir crock Lives in the newyork sewers, now Plantzilla is trying to conquer the sewer, run for your live.


CONTROLS:

LEFT, RIGHT ARROWS ----> MOVE
SPACE ----> JUMP
Z -----> ATTACK

CREDITS:

PIXELARTIST:

Juan Francisco 'Juanfra' Gonzalez
Fran 'Chesco' Aguilar
Patricia 'Kirayla' Hernandez

PROGRAMMERS:

Jacobo 'Jastro' Caraballo
Pedro 'Rzial' Perez


Musician:

Oscar 'Ainim' Roman


Community Manager.

Gonzalo 'Chalo' Matallana

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Graphics(Jam)4.46
#223Audio(Jam)3.54
#332Mood(Jam)3.44
#389Humor(Jam)2.87
#466Overall(Jam)3.37
#593Fun(Jam)3.06
#923Innovation(Jam)2.41
#1032Theme(Jam)2.57
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

Lim3s says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Game was fun overall, found a lot of the jumps to be very difficulty at first (especially the super precise single block jumps).

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11am

Nice game but very hard!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

Nice art, but the collisions are bad, making the game way harder than it should be. You should increase the collision boxes a little bit.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

Cool graphics, I didn't get far, it's very difficult from the beginning (I agree with Lim3s about the block precision, a tolerance margin could help).

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17am

Graphics look great and the game is fun! Gameplay is quite unforgiving unfortunately.

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19am

loved the pixel art and the style, though I found it quite difficult >.<

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31am

I really dig the SNES/Genesis style of graphics, living the 16bit era like it's 1995. The music is great too!
The only real problem I have with the game (as stated by other people too) is that it's just too difficult because the collision, making it way more difficult than it needs to be :(

Still a great game tho! :D

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35am

Hard as hell but funny, have a very good looking pixel art graphics too. Nice game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52am

I love the graphics and the music, the game is really good. A bit difficult with some jumps, but in few minutes you catch the controls and you can enjoy it. Good work!!

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05pm

This game is very visually pleasing, the colours fit perfectly together and I have to applaud your artist on an incredible job with it! The audio is good, but it gets repetitive, would be nice to see more music in the soundtrack.

The mood is set in a very well made fashion with the combination of the great art fitting to the location.

The game fits well with the theme, no complaint there.

However, the game suffers from being riddled with precision jumps that drop the enjoyment a lot, it might just be me but I feel that the degree of the difficulty takes a lot away from this great gem.

Not very innovative, but that's fine, overall this game is in my book basically a piece of art, but I probably wouldn't play it due to it's difficulty.

Great job though! Hope to see your games in the future :)

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Nice game, the third jump is a bit hard to make, but when you get the hang of it, it gets really funny and entertaining!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Nice game, it looks great. It's hart to start, check the collisions. Music is so great

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Sir Croc is so pretty! Really like the art style and colors.

As everyone's saying, the jumps are extremely difficult, but I played it in good measure, probably just to keep watching the little hat tip when I jump.

Good job!

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Nice game! Does it end? it tried several times and it just seems an infinite random platformer with a large amount of unfair jumps!

muit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very cool. Just not very related with the themes but i loved the style, congrats.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

@muit is related, the enemy grow up, but you must stay alive more of 20 seconds :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Graphics and music are awesome, but the game was a bit too punishing from the start, with little to no time to get the pacing of the game in most restarts.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Fantastic graphics!. It seems somewhat complicated by the jump as adjusted, plus reaction times as short. It is equally a good job.

Sergioct says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Excelent !

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:46am

Difficulty was downright unfair, but fortunately the nigh-instant respawn prevented it from being frustrating. In addition to making the collision more forgiving, I'd recommend slowing down the plant to the players speed or a little slower, as I've had it catch up to me and just barely hit me midair while I was moving full-blast. Lastly, the plant walls are very unexpected and almost always made me pause, causing me to lose as the plants speed outmatched mine so much.

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:07am

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]