Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spider's web

by mortus - Compo Entry

==== CONTROLS ====
X or Left to grow new webs
C or Right to navigate your web

New webs reduce your size by 1500 (if they go through the center) or by 300.

Press C or Right to make a turn, leave current web fragment or leave center

==== ENDGAME ====
There is a victory condition, you need 40 000 size points to hunt bigger prey!

==== KNOWN BUGS ====
Web shredding is far from perfect
It's really hard to navigate a web without some serious experience

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#177Innovation3.69
#246Mood3.33
#287Humor2.79
#317Audio3.00
#401Overall3.33
#455Theme3.77
#463Fun3.17
#526Graphics3.00

Comments

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53am

Nice and innovative, is a bit little harsh to get what the controls do at the beginning, but then, the game is funny

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57am

The graphics is great, however, one must get used to the controls little bit in order to perform well. Good job.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07am

Cool little entry. Great for 48 hours' work. Controls take some getting used to and see a bit harsh in beginning. Fun game though. Good work

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Saw you post about this during development, and I thought that was something I wanted to try!

The idea is great, though the two button controls definitely make it much less accessible. I also spent so much time maintaining even a small web that I didn't really have much time to expand.

If you do update this at some point to have a non-two button version, I would be interested in trying it again!

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:45pm

I really enjoyed this! The mechanics are awesome! I've always wondered what it would be like to be a spider... :P

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Very interesting hard at the start but gets to be fun. GG for a 2 day game,

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:15pm

The controls were a bit difficult to understand at start (especially the moving around), but otherwise a very nice game.

Cheers!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:17am

I do not quite understand when you can add a thread. But the game is like .

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:22am

Had a tough time getting a hang of the controls but after that it was fun to play.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Controls are hard but fulfill the theme. Nicely done!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:35pm

That was fun. With better graphics and goal based levels would stick for a while.

Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Original idea, and very enjoyable. The controls are odd but seemed intuitive to me. I found it a bit too hard to navigate concentric spokes, so I made all my strands go through the center. The "spinning" adds an extra dimension to the gameplay. I played it for 20 mins up to size 30,000 or so until the strand I was on suddenly disappeared and I was dead. I don't think that's a good way to die gameplay-wise.

Anti says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:06am

Very nice game. It was very fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]