Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BeatMan

by Fervir - Compo Entry

A Rhythm game where you use two buttons!
Can you beat my high score of 1644?

----Controls----
A : Move back
D : Move forward / melee attack
A + D : Block

----Tips----
Your attacks will Always land before an enemy's attack.
You may only attack the front most enemy in the next tile.
All enemies in an adjacent tile will be able to attack you.
All enemy attacks will be blocked when you issue the block command.
The archer can attack you from three tiles away.
Don't miss a command to build your GROOVE meter, when it's full you get +1 attack.
Execute commands in the blue region once you've got GROOVE going, you will get extra points.
You are allowed to jump back once without breaking GROOVE, however you must execute two commands to be able to jump back again.
If you block and no enemy attacks you, you will break your GROOVE.

----12/14/15 BUG FIX----
There was a problem with the CC export that messed with the main timing loop, making it completely unplayable. It only appeared after I restarted my computer, and doesn't exist when running CC. Should be fixed now

----12/20/15 BUG FIX----
Since everyone's computer is different and the above fix didn't work, I've made it so that you're able to fine tune the main timing loop so that it works out for you. I guess you have to have a sense of rhythm for it to work out though. Try to eliminate any breaks in the loop or prevent the loop from overlapping with itself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Audio3.88
#90Humor3.50
#153Fun3.64
#182Innovation3.68
#215Mood3.39
#263Overall3.52
#397Theme3.83
#480Graphics3.08
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

QuexD says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

I got Riped very hard

Alloyed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

+ I like pressing things in time to beats
+ The enemy animations and the way they fell apart made them feel unique and interesting to fight
+ Good sense of personality
- There are distinct seems in between the bars where each sample begins and ends. distracting.
- Game is hard. I never got use a blue command and see if it gives you double moves or it just is for cool points
- Looking at the attack animation in particular had a bad effect of throwing me off. It feels like it's timed to respond to the offbeat instead of instantly, which mean I pretty hard to not look if I wanted any hope of sustaining my combo

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55am

I like the really artwork! I found it very difficult to play, though. There is something funky with the timing in the controls, I think. Maybe some tweaking would make the gameplay feel a bit more satisfying. Great work nonetheless! :)

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Rhythm approach goes very well with the 2 keys controls, very nice game

Fervir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:27pm

I've fixed the main timing loop for the game, so it shouldn't be pretty much impossible to play now.

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Good concept and visuals. I really love rhythm games! XD

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:12pm

The art is silly, and the gameplay is more intense than you might. At first it looked like a simple rythm tap game. but just tapping a button on a beat didn't work. Love it!

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Record: 215. Super cool game, props! Getting some Necrodancer feels <3 Nice job!

Mr. says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16pm

I was confused at first, but once I figured the game out I started have a fair amount of fun. Timing your actions and knowing when to block or attack is pretty satisfying.

With some polish I imagine that I might find myself playing this game along with the others that I typically do, especially if it were on a phone.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Nice beat, but a bit too loud, at least, if you wear a headset.

Verrazano says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I dunno, I felt like it is a really cool idea, but I could never get my movement to work, I'd try to time, it but I never felt like it was consistent with how fast I was pressing it. Pressing a+d also didn't seem to work reliably. Not sure what was going on, because I play a lot of cotnd and I don't have any issues with timing in that. I ended up resorting to spamming keys which didn't work very well once I got to enemies.

fishtrek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

love the concept, though a bit annoying having a rhythm game where the music doesn't loop properly and skips a bit after the 4th beat. else the game itself is pretty fun :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30am

Wow, it's so hard. Simplistic but enjoyable. Wish I was better at it :)

hydancer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Great idea but poor execution. For a game like this to work you need to delineate moves very clearly and swiftly so that people can tell what's happening. In your game though the tween that makes the player move to the next/previous block for instance is way too long, so this kills any sense of rhythm that whatever is happening on the screen is connected to the song. You can still get by by only listening to the song but it's way harder than it should be. Similar reasoning applies to enemies. Plus, it seems like the beat detection is off because I keep losing my combo even though I'm not being attacked nor pressing the key outside the beat.

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23am

I love rhythm games so this was great. Blocking was very tough though. Also, is there a way to continue? I always had to close the game and open it again.

Jacktheviper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:32pm

The music is catchy and the gameplay flows nicely, I'm not very into rhythm games but I don't really have any complaints, the game is perfectly well executed within its scope.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:08am

The idea was really cool but the timing felt really hard to get. The music and art fit really well together. Nice work.

Fervir says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:07am

Hopefully this fix actually fixes the problem for other computers instead of mine (see notes above).

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:46pm

could not figure out why i couldnt move sometimes. i then realized it was because you have to go with the beat. the music is very nice. i like the concept but it needs some more work

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Nice game and music. Someone wanted a guitar hero made in 48 hours and this is in some sense. Well done!

Tselmek says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:48am

Very very challenging rythm game, though I love the artstyle. Quite polished and sweet music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]