Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Trump Buttons Incorporated

by FloatingGhost - Compo Entry

So you want to become a Button Mogul? Of course you do, everyone wants to own a button retail empire!

So do it! Guide Trump and friends to become the biggest button company ever - manipulate the stock markets to ensure total WORLD DOMINATION!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#127Humor3.34
#668Innovation2.81
#785Mood2.42
#894Overall2.63
#895Theme2.87
#924Fun2.20

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Looks intriguing!... but I'm afraid I'm not sure what I'm doing!? :/

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Did you read the help page? That kinda explains it

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14am

By the nine heavens, is this game INTIMIDATING. Even with the help screen, I was still paralyzed from lack of understanding.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17pm

All hail Trump God King of the Americas and soon the world. By the way, nice game.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

This game reminds me why I', not a stockbroker. Nice to see a html/js game that doesn't use canvas!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

look at on point hair dude!
i'm dying :))

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The game wouldn't get past the help page... I click on all the buttons, it didn't do anything.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

This is just very confusing to play. I like a good complicated simulation game as much as the next guy, but it was too hard to make sense of what was going on here. I did stick with it for a good few minutes, too!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

I didn't know what I was doing. Too much was happening to quickly understand.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10pm

^ well then slow it down? There's a slider for a reason

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Great work ! Hard to understand at first, but some cool mechanics.

beastletsplay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16am

Really interesting game, spent heaps of time on the economy part which is really cool, wish you expanded more on that.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I was pretty confused playing this game, even after looking at the help page. Maybe you should make a tutorial :) it looks nice though! =P

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:40am

So I love charts and graphs... but this kind of had the intrigue of watching paint dry.. .lol. Very funny, very interesting, but I think it was lacking a few things. I would suggest at least an ambient track, sound fx maybe for a day advance (not as important). More indication for when you are failing or succeeding might help? Just a few suggestions. All in all, I think it was a very interesting and unique idea. good work!

brandloose says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:47am

Saw how the help page was recommended, and was like pshh. Got into game. *fell over dead* Pretty fun though. Got me playing for a long time.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:32am

I played this game for a lot to try to figure it out, but it took too long for me :P I wasn't very good, I think.

I did have fun flooding the market with blue buttons and then realising I wouldn't be able to make a profit on them for the next few years

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Quite difficult to understand, but it's an enjoyable game.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:43am

Way too complicated, but I get what you were trying to do - if you ever played dope wars or one of the other games of that type, you might be able to use that kind of mechanic instead. I was able to pump up demand for a product then drop the quality and flog it until it flatlined, then swap to the other button, but I may have been fluky in making a profit this way - not sure what was really happening.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:47am

Great to see another flavour of game. This is certainly a challenging genre to do in a jam and especially hard for people to get.

I liked working against a fickle market and trying things to see if they help, very fitting to the stock markets theme.

I didn't understand for a while that you have to click to buy or sell the surplus stock. They don't look like buttons. Also, you should have each slider 'above' its button to make logical top to bottom workflow: adjust slider and click to sell/buy. I also wish they didn't reset to 1 after each transaction.

A bit weird having the ability to change the outputs of each button all the way up to spending all your money in one turn. This made the production sliders always move on their own as their upper limits increased.

I don't think it was at all lacking in tutorial and pretty easy to understand what to do. There wasn't much you could have taken out to improve simplicity. It could greatly benefit from a bit of interface fixing-up. Anyway, solid effort.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:40am

OMG I only just got the 'two buttons' theme use. Classic.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]