Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SlimeCraft

by jacklehamster - Jam Entry

Lately, I've been obsessed with the newest Starcraft 2 expansion, Legacy of the Void. So it's been difficult to focus on making a game.

Last time, when I was obsessed with Civilization, I ended up making a game called Slimilization.

So this comes with no surprise that this time, the game is called
SLIME CRAFT!

But hey, when I look at the themes:
- GROWING: That works out. SC is a game about growing your army. Also, with those slime units evolving into other units, it's right on for the theme!
- TWO BUTTON CONTROLS: Alright... so we can't really make an RTS that you play with 2 buttons...

Or can we... Let's find out!

This is an RTS with slimes and with 2 button controls!

NOTE:
The music is from Starcraft 1. I'll try to replace it with my own when I get the chance.
I didn't have a chance to program the AI, so this game is only playable locally with 2-4 players (each assigned 2 keys on the keyboard).
Post-Compo, we should see some AI, original music and perhaps more units!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#26Theme(Jam)4.40
#57Innovation(Jam)3.94
#90Overall(Jam)3.89
#278Fun(Jam)3.46
#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#310Humor(Jam)3.03
#439Graphics(Jam)3.60

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59pm

H-holy shit...! A two button RTS?! It's actually pretty damn fun, and it sticks to the theme to boot! Well done, props to you!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51am

wow you did a great job of converting an RTS into two button controls. I'm impressed.

Galan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:58am

I think you got it too work! Not that it's an improvement over a more-button RTS, but I think the game is well-tuned to the controls. The number of units may make selection a bit of a challenge after a while, but it's still fun.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:05am

Was surprised it wasn't that hard to control, at least until you have a ton of units. Really skeptical at first but you proved me wrong.

brandloose says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:16am

I dunno, the mechanics, controls, and art was great, but the gameplay itself lacked in my opinion. Didn't really understand what was going on. Still great game. :D

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:22am

Well done executing an enjoyable two button rts! Selecting different units was a bit of a pain once you had a bunch created though. Using something like both buttons at once as a modifier and double tapping might be able to come up with some solution that made it easier... but seems silly to do post jam.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:31am

WOW. just WOW. So cool. 4 player 2 button controlled RTS. how, just cool! loved everything. except that i wanted to use all the mouse, buttons and everything. just neat that you guys did this.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:32am

This game is great. Nice work adapting an RTS into a two-button game. One thing it needs is to give the slime armies different colors! It's really hard to tell whose slime is whose when they go to war.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:24am

I loved this! Really good use of the two button theme. This was one of my fav games in this jam.

Anachron says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:23am

Cool idea that was fun, your slimes are excellent! Kinda wish I could use the right and left mouse buttons

KayZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Already liked your slimilization and this one is good too. Maybe give the slimes of the different players different colors. Was a bit hard to see which ones are my slimes when they were fighting.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:21am

Thanks for the feedback. The Web version now has different slime colors for each players.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

amazong - how did you do this - so great -

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Haha, I was actually wondering if someone could pull off an RTS with the two-button theme. Well payed sir. I have no real complaints, excellent game.

elizeu says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:40pm

great use of theme, amazing job

korvyashka says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Interesting idea - actually start and middle of game is very fun. Too much units on late - is a bit inconvenient to select the one knight from lots of units.

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:30am

Very nice! Well polished and everything! Good job!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:34am

I wish I had 3 other people to play this with, it looks like it would be a blast! I fooled around with it, but don't have anyone local to boot it up with.. It was tough to control, but it's a lot fun!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:01am

I unfortunately couldn't play with anyone, but still played against myself to get a feel for the game. Very interesting idea indeed; I think playing against an AI with mouse buttons would have made for a very fun game. I can also imagine how fun and hectic a multiplayer game would be, despite not being able to participate in one.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Only thing that really needs to be added is AI, could only play agenst myself. But overall really well made. :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:59pm

So crazy game xD Very interesting concept.

bering says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:02pm

It works !?! I thought of something like this but dismissed it right away, thinking it would be too hard to play. But, it works! And you made it pretty darn fun too, with multiplayer! Great!

brainstorm says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Great game! Sadly, I don't have anyone to play with, but I'll give you a 5/5 just for making a 2-buttons game of that kind!

Jan 11, 2016 @ 12:13am

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EnuG74cyOfk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]