Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

o / O

by NMcCoy - Compo Entry

Roll around. Inflate. Collect the things and the other things. It's an NMcCoy game, so if you know what to expect from that, expect it.

ADVICE: Since I've seen videos of people having trouble with it - when you're large, you have a lot more air resistance. To get the most out of a jump, you need to inflate only briefly in order to retain your momentum.

Button 1 (left click/Ctrl): grow
Button 2 (right click/Alt): roll
R = reset
Esc = quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Fun4.00
#33Theme4.38
#38Overall4.05
#67Innovation3.95
#143Audio3.48
#413Humor2.50
#444Mood3.00
#590Graphics2.90
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40am

Very fun and addictive. Loved those mechanics but could be better with cool graphics:P

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I had a lot of fun with this! You really nailed the themes here.

Playing around with the physics of it was interesting too. Or, I feel like I learned a lot using the move/grow functionality as a gas/break mechanic. A lot of layers to it!

Also, the abstract geometry and lighting reminded me a little of Super Mario 64's Bowser levels, so that's a win. ;P

intXparts says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Whoa I'm blown away! This is an amazingly fun game to play! The physics, mechanics, level-design were all superb. Excellent work!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:47pm

This ended up being a lot more involved than I assumed in the beginning. Some interesting physics/growing puzzles and reasonable difficulty. Especially for a compo entry really nicely done.

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Awesome game, good luck, one of the best in this ld

ascam says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:11pm

game of the year topkek

rojo says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:39pm

This was pretty fun! I liked the simplicity of the mechanics, and for the most part the level of challenge felt appropriate. Good use of both themes as well, particularly growing.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Love the mechanics. Awesome entry there, clearly one of the most innovatives I can think of.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Great game in all it's aspects. The theme are really well merged and the gameplay is very interesting. The physics are accurate but sometimes I really feel confused. For example when you have to jump, jump again on bars and jump again on the 2 highest bars. That moment was at the same time incredible because of how well designed it is and awful because of how hard to control it is.
Sometimes it works well, sometims it doesn't but in general it's an outstanding work. I really like the music too and I think the UI and graphics could have been a little bit polished (I guess you are programmer :P).

Conk says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:13pm

This would make a perfect mobile game! Fantastic use of both themes, very innovative and super fun!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Really nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

NMcCoy says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:21pm

The two video reviews I've seen were both struggling with how to advance. Tips: When you're large, you have a lot more air resistance; you need to be small in order to retain momentum. Thus, you can jump higher if you just tap the button rather than holding it. If you need to move backwards, you can do so by kicking off of a wall.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:32pm

I love how fast and dramatically the ball inflates. Music was nice and upbeat. Keep it up! Web version would be nice.

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Great exploration of a mechanic! Great feel to the controls, seems like it is tuned very well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]