Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

In the beginning

by Liam :D - Compo Entry

"In the beginning" is a terraforming game where you prepare your planet for life.

Controlled with your mouse.

Features a campaign!

You begin with an icy, lifeless rock in space, which you are meant to make habitable. Using the tools available, you must control the planet's temperature, atmosphere, O2 level and water supply. Play through the campaign to get a good feel for what the game is.

Of course you can also make a snowy, icy planet or a super hot Mars-like planet. And of course you can make a perfectly habitable planet, make life... and then ruin it like the monster you are. :D

While I appreciate numeric reviews, I encourage you to leave a written comment. I really appreciate those.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Innovation4.18
#233Theme4.00
#325Mood3.20
#481Overall3.23
#561Humor2.20
#617Graphics2.86
#633Fun2.95
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01am

Really nice idea! Started first with the "free play" and was like WTF! But when I understood the game mechanics it became really fun to play. There should be some more possibilites. Would be great as a mobile game.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Nice idea. I found that I wasn't sure what the right mix of heat and ice with rain was to kick start the forest growth. I had hoped to get pulled into the concept more.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46am

Su[er innovative. I mega wish seeds shipped with this release, along with whatever else Liam could cook up. I look forward to seeing this game grow!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50am

This is such a brilliant concept, I just wished you had time to do a bit more as there is only so much you can do with the 3 available tools. Perfect for the theme. Missing music and sound.

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50am

An interesting concept, it would be cool if it was expanded on some more.

mappel6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52am

Pretty decent game, though I'm afraid I'm gonna have to order the seed of animal life now. XD

Keep working on it is my suggestion. This can be a nice, entertaining web game. Maybe, if it got more on the gameplay side, it could *grow* past that, too.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57am

Intriguing idea here

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:01am

Very interesting concept, but still miss something to turn into interesting game.

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:20am

Cool concept!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:54am

Interesting.

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:02am

For a while I couldn't figure out how to get trees on the planet but eventually I stumbled across them whilst free playing. One thing to fix is to stop movement of the buttons when clicking on next in the tutorial. In fact clicking and dragging probably would have been nicer than click to select and then to move. Graphics too could have had a little polish as it was difficult to tell the buttons apart, especially when selected. A couple of icons would have gone a long way.

I do love the style though when you get everything right, the atmosphere joining with the trees and the water looking really pretty. I'd love to play it again once it has had more work on it.

CPau says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Great idea!

EwChap says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:58am

cool concept. I had trouble understanding how to properly mix to get the results i wanted, but was still fun and unique.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]