Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Huebot Mazerunner

by Binary Gambit - Jam Entry

Huebot Mazerunner is a game about a cute robot stuck in some sort of maze of mazes.

HOW TO PLAY:
Press Left (when Huebot is stationary) to walk down the left most path.
Press Right (when Huebot is stationary) to walk down the right most path.
If there is only one option Huebot will automatically walk.
If there are three exits to an intersection, you cannot go straight.

Collect the crystals to suck the color from a level.
Use the portals to explore the world.
Win by collecting all 64 Crystals.

Concepts I wanted to explore:
*Procedural Color Palettes
*Maze of Mazes (Bridged Eller Maze Stacks)

What went right:
Great artist who was easy to work with
Implemented gameplay within first 7 hours
Heaps of time for regular life, eating and sleeping

What went wrong:
Lots of light globes in my house blew up, which meant working in the daytime
Importing old dirty code I found from old projects was not as smooth as hoped
The last gameplay mechanic not implemented (queuing orders)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

This game makes me feel dumb :) I keep taking wrong turns because I confuse myself and don't think relative to the bot! That's on me though. I like how this looks, some sound and music and this could get really cool. Nice job on this!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12am

Thanks for playing.. your game was also fantastic! The idea was to confuse the play a little bit so they need to think from a different perspective.

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

It's more difficult than it seems :D Good game

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

interesting much fun it is even that the queueing mechanic is not in the game in the end. cutting corners and getting faster kept me going for a while. The Pixel art is really cool though!

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:57pm

I like the graphics, I just wish the controls were easier. But overall good game

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58pm

I thought my game was hard but this is harder.

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:56pm

I played for quite a while (think I got around 50 crystals before giving up). The main problem really is that it is very hard to know if you missed some and to remember on what level they might have been. Especially since the 'level id' was easy to miss (only noticed it after about 30 levels). In fact I only understood the concept of the hue and that the portals told me which direction I was going based on their color. All these things could have been helped by having difficulty-modes. Start out by giving the player 8 colors to collect. Next difficulty, give them 16. And so on. 64 is a big commitment from the player and since the player will be a bit lost in the beginning backtracking and getting everything right makes it even more so. Other than that, I liked the controls. The game could have done with some music and effects. Consider porting to mobile devices?

Tselmek says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:26am

Fun concept but the gameplay quickly feels a little repetitive, especially when you know you've gotta find 64 crystals. Could definitely benefit from audio feedbacks.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]