Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Berry Thorny

by KilledByAPixel - Compo Entry

Only uses 2 buttons
Left and right to steer
Press both buttons at same time to jump
Collect berries and avoid thorns
You can also use gamepad controls

IF THE GAME IS RUNNING POORLY ON YOUR COMPUTER...

Just run "BerryThorny_LowSettings.bat" instead of the normal executable. This will launch unreal in super low settings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Graphics4.08
#103Fun3.75
#135Audio3.50
#174Overall3.67
#254Mood3.32
#397Theme3.83
#512Innovation3.12
#549Humor2.23
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Really polished work! Controls feel great and the sense of speed is messaged well. Jumping felt just a little too weighty but that is a minor gripe. Materials and FX feel juicy. The destructible obstacles convey weight well when you hit them and I actually wanted to smash them just for fun. The berries should have an even more satisfying pop to convince me to hit them instead!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Lots of fun! Good job! I love seeing procedural generation employed well in LD entries.

The frame rate was pretty poor at times on my machine, but not so much as to be a problem - and certainly understandable considering this was put together in 48 hours.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

Controls really well although I too think the jump feels weighty, I was expecting a loud metallic CLANK sound when I landed. It's pretty fun though and the music changing with the speed is a nice touch.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

Awesome job ! The graphics are amazing, gameplay is addictive, the music is great. And procedural generation ?! It's an impressive game you've made !

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22am

Fun and polished! I like the procedural generation.

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

Nice looking game. simple but addictive. The UI is not as beautiful and polished as the gameplay though. Well done!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

Great game. Liked the change in audio as it got faster. Good job.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Fun stuff! Looks great and controls are spot on. The music getting slower and faster adds to the frantic and mindscrewy nature of the game. Nice job!

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30am

Beautiful and fun game. For some reason I would get low fps sometimes but that could have just been a fluke.

Squid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40am

Looked good but it lagged a bit

Member1221 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22am

Good game, though it it is not friendly for slower PCs. The controls feels good, though there's too much weight on the jumping. I really like the produceral generation, while keepig gravity focused on the tubes/pillars/or what it is called in English. In conclusion: Nice game, could use some quality settings for slower pcs.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Cool game! Really liked that the music changed speed and pitch while playing. Only problem for me is that the frame rate wasn't very consistent. (gtx 670)

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Fun & Polished. Do i need more?

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Really cool games! 12k score on first try! ^^ I love how the music speed up with the gameplay!!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Nice endless runner style simple and fun

Innobec says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28am

Very cool look but it had trouble running on my machine so it was harder to play.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Pretty cool! The game was fun and the graphics were awesome, but it was too laggy on my gaming PC. Consider offering settings for graphics.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:05am

The frame rate of the game was poor similarly to rjhelms experience but overall the game was fun. Good job in making a game that integrates procedural generated elements and replay value. The "New Highscore" was a nice touch as well.

SelfTitled says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Reminds me of the vr game Radial G
Graphics look pretty, almost impossible to tell if by turning there will be obstacle though.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:53am

Could use some better camera because sometimes you can't see what's ahead but overall quite good game.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:37pm

this makes fun! good work!

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:52pm

I really enjoyed the game, and the push and pull of getting powerups and getting hurt kept me playing for a while. There was a bit of latency for me, but I'll test out the lo-fi .bat and maybe squeeze some more gameplay out of it. The graphics look really amazing, and I loved the music! Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]