Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Unidirectionnal Game

by mat1er - Compo Entry

Theme choosed: two button controls.

Here's a platformer where you can only go in one direction. So go to the right, it's useless to press the other direction, it wont work. The scenario is easy:
1) You got cursed offscreen
2) During that moment, you fall into a hole (still offscreen)
3) You can go in only one direction, so walk in that direction.

Featuring:
-A fullscreen mode by pressing f6!
-Ugly graphism!
-Only one music (but it's catchy, so not a big deal)
-Colorswaped ennemies!
-Minimum 15 level!
-9 environment with (a little) differents graphism!
-Some random in the choice of the levels!
-4 ridiculously hard secret area that sometimes may be impossible to get in!
-Poorly made development!
-More than 5 different sounds!
-Sprite without animation!
-A lame joke!
-A title with mistakes in it!
-No animations!

At first I tried to put it for right and left, but like ten minutes before the time limit, there was a collision bug with the left... Sorry.

*The author would like to clarify that he's not really proud of this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#480Humor2.36
#578Theme3.61
#611Audio2.27
#665Innovation2.82
#686Fun2.86
#756Mood2.52
#767Overall2.89
#820Graphics2.38

Comments

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30am

*.gmk in "Windows" link. Don't know how to use it. It's sad, because screenshots and the idea seems interesting...

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:47pm

The screenshots look very cool, but I've no idea how to open the gmk file..

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21pm

I wish my GameMaker 8.1 still worked! :( Pro tip - you can export your project to a .exe using the Standalone Executable button. :)

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Hmm.. I can't get the game to work. Sorry buddy :C

peyj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21pm

When I load the gmk into GameMaker Studio it does not work ( probably because it didn't port well from gm8). So if I were you I would export it as exe and reupload it (Ports are allowed even after the dead line) like others have said.

mat1er says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Sorry I putted the wrong link on the "windows" part...

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I like this kind of exploration games, but it is really a shame that it doesn't restart on a level but you have to start from the first level every time.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52pm

I seem to only be locked into going right, even though your description says I can choose left or right only once at the beginning. Graphics are nice and simple. One thing with the sound is that some of the losing sounds are a lot louder than the background music, so it caught me off guard. Cool concept with the exploration, but I would like to keep advancing maybe on a lives system instead of going all the way back to the beginning.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Hello!
Game was quite challenging (for me). I guess because of the floaty air movement and the restart from the beginning.
But i had fun non the less! Good job!

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Fun game. I didn't like how you restart after each death (I've seen less than 1/4th of the levels).
Also the music is too quiet compared to the sound effects.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16am

Pretty funny idea to lock one direction! Sadly, I think it only works for the "right" at the moment. Graphics are simple, but very clear. I could only win 4 or 5 levels, but I'm not a very skilled player for that kind of game. Anyways, good job!

Shurty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18pm

very cool idea. it's so frustrating to move on one only direction. It's a great concept ! ! plus The game is quite challenging (yay !)and the levels designs are good.
I would just like to restart the level where I failed instead of restarting the whole game. And it would help to exploit the Die and Retry concept. :)

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:15am

Awesome idea! audio could be improved

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:30pm

nice and challenging platformer! well done :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:08am

I like the idea of letting the player whether he can move only left or only right-- thats what I thought that txt was about in the beginning but I couldnt move left.

Still, nice level design with the room-based system, this is something I havent seen as much. Not bad my friend, keep it up.

OwT says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Nice use of the theme. I surprisingly found myself raging out because of those irritating red squares. The sounds did not work very well. Some were too quiet and then bam! It scared the hell out of me, man. Also the jumping was soooo hard to get used to. I could get up, go to the kitchen, make me some tea and that lil buddy would still be in the air.
Maybe you could try improving it after LD? :) I'm counting on it.

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:41pm

good idea! need more work. enemy collision is a bit spotty and next to no tutorial.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:28am

I like the idea that you can only go to one direction. The level design really works with the concept and that's the most important.
The game was kinda hard, checkpoints could have made it less frustrating. But it was fun to play! GG

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:41am

PS: my game reminds you of what game?

mat1er says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:37pm

qkerguelen, your game reminded me of an old game I started to make but never really finished for budget reasons. Here's the demo http://mat1er.itch.io/candymiomsaga

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]