Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gonflichouettes

by blackwires - Jam Entry

Our game Gonflichouette is a 2d platformer for two players. They can play with each stick of a joystick (2 buttons theme) on the same PC.

The concept is simple : the players control two owls that can grow in size (growing theme). When one grows, the other one reduces. The players must solve puzzles using this ability as well as jumping, air control, activating platforms…

For an optimal experience use the 1152x864 screen resolution.

--

Credits:

Music & sound design by Félix Carcone
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/felix-carcone

Graphic Design by William Gelberg (ENSAAMA)

Developers (Epitech):

Adrien Albertini
Julien Edmond
Noé Gambini
Thomas Nabet
Paul-Antoine Riva

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#105Audio(Jam)3.84
#110Mood(Jam)3.84
#123Overall(Jam)3.81
#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#231Fun(Jam)3.53
#247Graphics(Jam)3.94
#281Humor(Jam)3.10

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09am

Really enjoyed the art and sounds, very nice! Fun mechanic with the two players working together.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Creative way to follow the theme.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13pm

I spent a lot of time on "Level 0". I didn't know the controls to grow/shrink the owls so I had no clue how to fit through the wall. Once I was past that, it was fun. I also got stuck on the falling level where you're racing the closing trapdoor--idk if it's my timing or if it needs to be tweaked to not close so fast... Overall, very neat! Great sound and mood.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17pm

The collision detection on the spring/buttons things is a bit off, but the mood is nice

blackwires says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

tmax8908@yahoo.com. On the falling level you need to block the trapdoor with a big owls. And wait for the small one. When they are together you can pass.

FloatingGhost: Thanks we gonna work on this ;).

celisoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Really like this game ! We didn't succeed in activating the button :/

Deretsun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

@celisoft: You must inflate over a button in order to activate it. The game is still missing a proper tutorial but we are working on it!

Thanks for your feedback.

korvyashka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Awesome!

buddhaman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Fun short game. Best mechanics based on the theme I have seen so far.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Rhouuuu Rhouuuuuuuuu :D

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59pm

- The music is the best part of this game, it really sets a great mood.
-You used a clever way to follow the theme.
- Mechanics are actually nice and satisfying.
- Good job!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

For some reason it crashes after the resolution screen. I use Linux x86_64. I tried different resolutions.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20pm

I like this collaborative logic+reaction gameplay following the theme. And pleasant music for the mood ^_^

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Awesome game. Nice art and audio. Just needed more levels :)

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:18pm

This game is awesome, from the start to the end. I played it with my friend and it was amazing, we laughed all the time! Owls are so cute, I love the sound they make when they die xd Very interesting use of the theme, I enjoyed it the most!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Un bon jeu. Je suis assez surpris par le skill derrière cette création. Jusqu'à présent, Epitech ne m'a jamais réellement enthousiasmé (oui oui on se connait). Le jeu est bien fichu avec un gameplay bien original. Une très bonne entrée. Bravo.
Really enjoyed the art and sounds. maybe too short, but overall - I like. Well done ++

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:47pm

I love the art!

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:07am

Owls sorta creeped me out. Cool puzzles.

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:13am

Really enjoyed it. Great art, sound, concept. I liked that you could blow each other up by inflating too much

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:12pm

nice game

paruthidotexe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Nice game concept and cool art.. expecting more levels since the game is very intersting

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]