Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Babality

by Spaghetti and Meatball - Jam Entry

Grab up to three of your friends and carve your way through a mass of randomly generated, enemy-filled arenas with your trusty two-button car!

Characters move around with WASD, arrow keys, or gamepad controls. Player 1 can move the camera around with the mouse or the right analog stick. Space or A button to jump.

Drive your car around and take out those pesky babies. Step on a button to do that button's action, and level up to get new parts for your car. You get different parts each time you play, so have fun!

We had a lot more planned for the game, but our programmer got sick and decided to take it easy. We may update the game to a more complete version in the future.

Thanks for playing!

Programming, Unity stuff, textures: Alexi Bay
3D Assets: Noah Gracey
Music, Sounds: Timon Incze

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#129Humor(Jam)3.58
#130Innovation(Jam)3.73
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#350Theme(Jam)3.85
#427Overall(Jam)3.41
#448Audio(Jam)3.15
#450Graphics(Jam)3.58
#564Mood(Jam)3.16

Comments

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

What did I just play? lol ok the goal of the game is humorous and I hate me some babies but feels forced and a bit incomplete. I would love to see a more flushed out version. Almost like a lan-party carmageddon :)

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:25am

A bit incomplete but i love the music and concept of the game. Have bugs too. Nice try for me. i love the idea.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26am

This could definitely be an interesting multiplayer game. I'm sure most of the time was spent making what you've got here, but it would be great if there was something more substantial than running over slow moving babies.

AriaMK says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

ha ha. This one was pretty weird. I ran into some bugs with the car crashing off into outer space but had fun playing with the car controls and upgrades.

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:42am

Seems like it might be an interesting concept with multiple people playing.

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46am

This was fun. I kept playing for new parts, until I clipped through the floor. With some more work, and functioning multiplayer, this could be a great party game.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58am

I think this will be a good concept for multiplayer game :)
Having fun to upgrade my car!
The camera control is not good for this kind of game.

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03am

Ambitious idea, love the graphics, really well done, also a nice use of the theme.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27am

i will need a few days to recover from this - still i had to give you some high marks in a few areas - nice work

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:41am

Buggy, weird little game, interesting concept but gets a little dry after a bit. Could be good with multiplayer kicking about with it! I do feel like it's not super strong on theme (the car I get but the rest isn't following growing or 2 butons save for that)

sirono says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:54am

Wonderful. Everything is fun. But it haven't give a enough energy for player to keep play

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:54am

hahahahaha this is epic i give 5 stars for every aspects of it

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

We couldn't figure out how to get multiplayer working, everything seemed to control the blue character, otherwise it was a blast

Anti says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:55pm

This was a pretty weird game but it was pretty fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]