Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Gaiardian

by GodsBoss - Compo Entry

Use two buttons ('n' and 'u') to grow some plants and other stuff. And break some things.

Made with Phaser.io & <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#125Theme4.14
#267Innovation3.49
#347Graphics3.35
#350Humor2.66
#433Mood3.03
#519Overall3.19
#536Fun3.08
#597Audio2.33

Comments

Teekeks says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36am

Really fun game!

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38am

Great game. Nice gameplay and I liked the graphics.
Very escalable too. I imagine this could be a nice mobile game.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10am

really nice game, i agree this can be a really great mobile game, simple control and nice concept!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48am

Nice game especially the graphics. Was missing some more complexity.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52am

Nice concept, not as easy as it seems :) Thanks !

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:58am

Good game. Potential to become a mobile game

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59am

Nice graphics and good that there were lots of levels. I found it a bit confusing at first, not clear whether i was using a item or not. The random sound didn't help, wasn't sure whether something was working or not.

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

Weird key bindings, but okay.
I failed a couple of times, but I could not go back to restart the level. (and didn't want to let the time run out). It's quite a cool concept, I love the fact that you have done multiple levels. The graphics are good, but hate the blurred font. It was funny at the start, but get's repetitive after a short amount of time
Overall good score.

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Fun game, and a cool concept. I liked the graphics, and the gameplay was nice. I enjoyed it, great job!

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Quite like the idea although I lost one level and didn't want to wait for the clock to time out so I reloaded.. and I'd lost my progress. Doh :)

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20am

Nice game. Great use of the theme and cool graphics. Great job!!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Funny game :) a little bit difficult for me !

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:54am

I didn't have a clue what was going on. I just rapidly pushed the N and U keys, and I won. It looked nice, but it wasn't a very good game.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Great concept, but perhaps a little bit simplistic in terms of game play... That being said, it might be really engaging for younger audiences...

Yazara says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

I LOVED the sounds! :D

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:21pm

very interesting concept, could be a very good full game with more polish

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Lovely pixel art and cool planet.
Great gameplay concept! Well done!

Pantoufle says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Excellent game! I finished it and I enjoyed it!
The only thing I regret was the absence of background music.
Congratulations for making this!

Dayko says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Quite pleasant game, and really well polished ! I've the impression that there are contradictory intentions in the game design though : the puzzle aspect seems to be far too simple, but artficially made difficult by adding the timer, which I don't like a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]