Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Magnificient Creature

by yoanndeplo - Compo Entry

Hi ! This is my fourth LD, but my first real compo, and I hope that you will enjoy my game : "The Magnificient Creature". I used Processing, sfxr, paint.net and "La boite a couleurs" (the color box in english) to make this game. If you see a bug or a mistake, report it and I will fix it (if I could).

NB : After clicking on "Download", it may take a few moment before starting the download.

Enjoy !

Yoanndeplo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#103Humor3.46
#341Mood3.17
#567Fun3.04
#599Theme3.58
#605Audio2.29
#681Innovation2.79
#826Graphics2.35
#835Overall2.77

Comments

Spyboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

J'ai rigolé un bon nombre de fois! :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:38am

lol - funny story :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:46pm

I hope that I am lucky enough to catch a glimpse of a magnificent creature under a full moon someday!

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:06pm

There is also a legend wich says that donate thousands of $/£/€ to me will increase your chance to see a Magnificient Creature by 1%.

It's a lot, 1%.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:29pm

After I talked to the fisher boy, the game just stopped and I couldn't find a way to continue, not sure if this is a bug. Graphics and sound needs to improve a lot. It's not particularly fun also, you just choose dialog options. I think you should add more interaction if you want to make an adventure game. There are also grammar mistakes in English version.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:47am

@commodoreKid I've fixed the bug, thanks for your comments.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:21pm

I actually laughed when I played this hilarious game xD
Great job!

Dracir says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

HAhah Quel magnifique créature!
The story is cute !

- Le text devrait être accélerable car quand on rejoue pour en lire plus, on doit attendre sur du texte déjà connue.
- J'ai l'impression qu'on est un peu insité à être gentil, c'est le seul choix qui semble... Et la je viens de voir qu'il y a des liens avec les choix :D

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:01pm

@Darkgrisen Thanks !
@Dracir Pour le texte : J'aurais du le faire, mais sur le coup je m'étais dit que c'était pas super utile.
Pour le fait d'être gentil : Les rotules, toujours les rotules. ;)

ambi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:56pm

It was a cute little game. I enjoyed the story even if it was a bit simple. Nice use of the two buttons theme.

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:38am

had some fun with this little game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]