Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Midnight Runner

by CustomPhase - Jam Entry

Simple runner in a 80's vhs style. The gameplay itself was done in only about 8 hours, the rest of the time was contributed to the art, music and bugfixing.
Everything, except fonts, was done by me.

Spacebar to jump, you can double jump. D to dash.

Could have finished in 48 hours, if i had a decency to test Unity webgl builds inbefore Ludum Dare started. Oh well.

No standalone build so far, use the WebGL version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Audio(Jam)4.15
#110Mood(Jam)3.84
#153Graphics(Jam)4.13
#194Overall(Jam)3.69
#315Fun(Jam)3.41
#346Humor(Jam)2.94
#499Theme(Jam)3.69
#900Innovation(Jam)2.49
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45am

was not able to get very far, but nice coherent art style and good potential

(not working in Firefox the way)

saucygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Pretty cool procedural generating game, hit the 80s vhs style pretty nicely, feel like i should be able to dash through trash cans lol.

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

This game is too hard ;P

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

WOW! I liked it so much, I like how you make it 80's Syle.

By the way yes it works in Firefox, but takes some tryies because Unity Webgl

guoboism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Wow! Great style´╝ü Game play very polished! I am not good at this kind of game so it to hard for me. But it's a really nice entry on the runner sub-category.

architect404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02pm

amazing music that compliments the great 80's aesthetic. tough game! my highest score was only 335. would be nice to have a different animation when in the air. great job! (also, in reference to an earlier comment: worked fine for me in firefox)

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Thanks everyone for comments! Ive made it a little bit easier now. Also regarding firefox issue - tested it myself, works fine on old and up-to-date firefoxes.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Really nice art! Glow, music and colors fit well together. I wish the music would just loop. I like the song.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

The graphics are great, the audio is great as well but I don't like the fact that the audio stops and starts over when you die, it's annoying to only be able to hear the start of a great song whenever you die.

Fits well to the theme, two buttons, the mood in this game is great, the atmosphere of the art really sets it.

I didn't have too much fun, but that's because the gameplay in this runner was inherently flawed, it was too difficult to tell when you were going to die, you jump so high you can't see where you're going to land, and thus you're not able to react fast enough.

Not very innovative, it's just another runner, anyway, good entry, would love to see the gameplay polished a bit!

Thanks for the experience, I hope to see you participate in the future as well :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Hey CustomPhase, too bad you do not believe I recorded all the audio for my game myself. So I provided a download link on my entry-page with the audio files, and you can see me recording it at 0:44 in my timelapse video. I hope you will give my audio a rating now ;)

Your game looks really nice! The graphics are very good and the music fits the graphical theme well.
Very slick presentation!

It's too bad you can't see whats beneath you when you perform a double-jump, so I died a lot when jumping high in the air.

Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Like the mood in the game!
Music and sounds are awesome!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38pm

I like the music the best I think, it fits the mood of the game very well. Graphics are good but could be better. Very repetitive even for a runner game. I also like the dash mechanic.

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

wow..this whole 80s, vhs, synthwave, retro, neonpunk overkill! great! tough game, tough neighbourhood

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Great mood, audio and music. had a good time playing it! :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:48am

Very stylized! I like the feel, though the random generation is pretty shaky, and the enemies don't feel terribly meaningful as a source of points since there are already point orbs, nor as a reason to dash since I want to dash to just avoid things. Fun to play, though!

matiz982 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:58am

Great retro style game. Sometimes is too hard but i would play it again.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11am

Good art, but the height of the jump made it difficult to predict where you would land.

Valandre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Good entry, a little bit hard, but fun. I love the 80's art!

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Wow, you *really* nailed the aesthetic, well done! The art and especially the audio are really great and complement each other very well.
For the actual gameplay, I quite like it. I like how instantly you can restart, it feels good (again great audio work too). It does get a little frustrating at times though, especially when I land on or in front of something that kills me, with no way of knowing it was there. Killing goons when you land on them would help, not sure what you can do about landing right in front of a car though. I also want to be able to jump out of a dash. Other than that, it's really great! Good job :)

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Really nice graphics! Good music too.

If you keep going, I feel like this mechanic lends itself to designed levels rather than randomly generated ones.

I could imagine a boss battle : )

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Great work on the 80s VHS theme. Had a great feel. If the level was a little more readable and intuitive it could be a great runner!

hiki911 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:59pm

nice runner, but obstacles require some highlights.

domo_demo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Really nice art, and very cool 80s music ! but where is the 'jump sprite' ? ;)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Kinda hard! Hard to know which objects are obstacles and which are not. I feel like there is a lag in key inputs.
Sometime when you jump, the balcony is off screen and when you see it, its already too late.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:41am

Fantastic graphics and gameplay!! also very difficult. After many trials I finally get 200+ haha

Magleff says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I heard the music on Soundcloud, then spent 2 hours playing non stop. The music, the graphics, the colors fit very well together.

There are some times when the space between obstacles is too narrow, and jumping too high is not a solution (unless you are lucky on landing).

But, restarting is not painful, and the game and the music keeps going! This game is fun.

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:24pm

mood is amazing, very well done sir! on the other hand, i find the game a bit too hard in and by itself. It's hard to know whether or not i'm gonna hit something when landing/not jumping early enough which takes quite a lot of fun out of the game :(

teamvr says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:21am

Cool look and sound. Randomness was a cool touch.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:28pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
I was confused in the beginning without a tutorial I had to bash into everything I find to get the hang of the game. After that it was a pretty decent game, the art style is reminds me to my favourite era and the atmosphere feel good. It was hard to get too far because some unpredictable pattern that just kills me harshly.

Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Beautiful graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BZOhspy6Kt8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]