Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sugarcane

by bobismijnnaam - Compo Entry

Stranded on a deserted island, with a vehicle with only a depleted fuel cell, you can see only one way out... To recharge it using your amazing power cropping skills! It's fun, it's blocky, it's the next big thing, it's

SUGARCANE

[How to play]
Arrow keys to walk around. Space to plant... Things. Pick them up when they;re fully ~~grown~~ green to... Charge your bar. Walk against the grey cubes to enter the shop, and upgrade various stats until you've maxed them out!

Fun fact: this game is entirely scripted in javascript, with the code being run by my homegrown game engine Bobetex! If you don't like the game, or would like to see some feature in it, don't hesitate: change it! All the code is located in the script folder, and the graphics api can only draw triangles and rectangles, so understanding what happens shouldn't be too difficult. Have fun :)!

[How to run]
Prefer the 64bit build. If you have 32bit or the 64bit build doesn't work, pick one of the old builds. Thank you :-)

Win32/64:
Doubleclick btx_32.exe. Should "Just Work.". And with "Just Work.", I ofcourse mean after you've made sure you have the visual c++ 2015 redistributable installed. I think you need to have the 32bit one installed, but if it doesn't work, try the 64bit as well, just to be sure. If they both do not work... Then I don't know. Sorry, and thanks for taking the time to run my executable :S

Loonix:
Start the file "btx". I've only tested it on my own ubuntu 15.04 machine, so any feedback in this regard is appreciated. You might have to install the SDL2 binary packages (something like `sudo apt-get install libsdl2-2.0-0`).

[Tools used]
The most well known are SDL2, Duktape, C++, and Vim. See [the repo](https://github.com/bobismijnnaam/bobetex) for details.

[About me]
I'm Bob Rubbens, a 20 year old computer scientist currently residing in Enschede. If you got any questions, hit me up on twitter (@broervanlisa) or send me an email (bobrubbens at gmail dot com). My home page is [here](http://plusminos.com), with my blog findable [here](http://blog.plusminos.com).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#456Innovation3.19
#522Humor2.29
#581Graphics2.92
#627Fun2.96
#644Mood2.74
#673Overall3.00
#735Theme3.37

Comments

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33am

Fun little game, could've used sound but overall I enjoyed it.

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I'm missing MSVCP130.dll it seems.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03pm

It's missing VCRUNTIME140D.dll, even though I have vcredist installed (and the installers provided only give "uninstall" and "repair" options)
Might try running on my linux side in a bit.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

It's a nice game. Not a fan of the graphics but I guess this appeals to some people. Otherwise it'S great!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08pm

As usual, even when the Vc++ installers are included, installing stuff is a huge turn-off for most voters.

I loved what you did with such simple graphics. The game started fun, but became kinda tedious after a while. Kudos for making your own engine, that stuff is always some extra points from me.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Fun game

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Picked this one due to the nice minimalist graphics. Very relaxing. Impressive entry.

A333 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Hi man. It seems that your program's dependent on vcruntime140D.dll, which is a debug version lib. AFAIK it doesn't distribute with common packages. Are you sure you've built a Release config?

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

@YinYin, @alyphen, ugh, damn dll's. Next time I'm just going to link everything statically. Thanks for the effort though.

Thanks for the comments everyone :-)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36pm

@A333: Yeah, I did built it in release, but I also built SDL2 myself and it seems that's were the debug part slipped it -.-

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57pm

This game was kinda confusing, I maxed out the game in a few minutes by buying a regeneration upgrade or something? Also I didn't know that you could exit the shop by clicking the top-right button at first, the interface could have been clearer.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I like the minimalism, though I would've preferred some text... I still have no real idea what I'm doing and why :P

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:49pm

@Gemberkoekje: I made my own engine and didn't have time to implement text/texture functionality, so I just tried to convey the instructions with... Rectangles. I know, not my brightest idea ever. Thanks for playing :-)

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

A fairly good and simple game, although a bit confusing at first.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:21pm

I guess I just don't get it maybe? There is a block that moves around but doesn't collide with anything. The motion is fluid so points for that but if it wasn't for my virus scanner telling me it was safe I might be concerned that it was a trojan. Sorry, just didn't get it. Points for simple graphics that are colored in a pleasing way.

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51am

Congrats on using your own engine!

I liked the color choices, they made the simple/abstract art style shine. I wasn't entirely clear what all of the shop items did (though some I understood like growing time / area.) If there was an end state I didn't see it unfortunately, because when touching the purple squares at the bottom of the screen it took me to the shop -- I found that I could keep buying the furthest right item, which I did until it was full. This seemed to grow the purple, and when I exited the shop I was in the midst of a purple area and unable to move, as any movement would trigger the shop again. Nevertheless I enjoyed it beforehand.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16am

@kmakai: It seems like you've figured out the most up until now, good job :) The purple blocks are kinda like "ambient generators", like the items you can buy in cookie clicker. First I wanted to make them placeable by the player, but I ran out of time and just spawned them in the field. You discovered an edge case that got you stuck in the purple blocks (: The other two items are movement speed and planting behaviour, would be useful to have if not the improper balancing of the game '-'

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30am

The game really doesn't show you how to play the game nor are the controls / ui / shops / etc obvious.. :(

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34am

I enjoyed playing it, liked the minimalistic art style. Sound effects would be a great addition though!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Nice, simple and fun.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01pm

pretty colours)

candlesan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:50am

The store was a bit hard to understand :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]