Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

hack.source.net

by Omiya Games - Jam Entry

Is your friend over-powering you in any FPS game? No worries! hack.source.net is a 2-player FPS that let's you disable up to two button inputs from your opposing player! Keep your friend from moving forward, take away their ability to jump, and shoot your way to victory!

Controls:
* WASD to move
* Space to Jump
* Hold the Left Shift to run
* Move the mouse to look around
* Left-Ctrl or Left-click to shoot
* Left-Alt or Right-click to put up a reflective shield
* Esc to bring up the hack menu

Created in:
* Engine: Unity
* Graphics: everything is created by Unity Standard Assets, excluding Box-chan (part of Unity-chan package).
* Music: GarageBand
* Sound Effects: Unity Standard Assets and BFXR
* Font: Fira-Sans by Mozilla

Special thanks to our Patreon patrons (https://www.patreon.com/OmiyaGames):
* Adam R. Vierra​
* Joshua Jennings
* David Lin
* Tommy Pedersen
* Jacob Clark

Developer Notes:
Holy cow, this is the first time I've attempted to create a networked multiplayer game (let alone, solo)! Is it as hard as everyone says, even in Unity?

Yes. Yes it is. I've been wanting to look into UNET framework to see if it was any easier to put networked games together, and well, this game really shows my lack of experience. The game is filled with bugs, and without any prediction factor, full of lag. A lot of my time developing this game (which started on Saturday morning) was on fighting bugs alone, so I haven't done any play-testing yet. Sorry for such a shoddy product!

Log:

* Jam version
* v1.2.0: Fixed the "control is disabled" animation is really annoying (not as intended).
* v1.2.0: Fixed the player hosting game cannot hurt the player joining.
* v1.3.0: Fixed the player animations not being synchronized.
* v1.3.0: The hosting player cannot move around while others are joining.
* v1.3.1: Shields (called “Reflect”) can now be disabled. The programmer actually forgot to enable this button, and was meant to always be hackable.

* Post-Jam
* v1.4.0: Explosions and sparks will not sync their positional data to the server more than once.
* v1.4.0: Increasing how often the player and bullet syncs their data.
* v1.4.0: Made the opposing player’s animations to be much more reactive.
* v1.4.0: Changed the health meter graphics.
* v1.4.0: Vastly increased the range of the radar.
* v1.4.0: Player avatar now appears as arrows in the radar.
* v1.4.0: Added a laser to indicate the path the bullet will follow.
* v1.4.0: Prevented disabling more than one directional key
* v1.4.0: Shields (called “Reflect”) can now be disabled. The programmer actually forgot to enable this button, and was meant to always be hackable.
* v1.4.0: Made the player avatars and their colliders much larger.
* v1.5.0: Made the radar hackable. Hacking the radar removes it from the HUD.
* v1.5.0: Changed the shader on the environment back to standard diffuse. This is meant for a future update.
* v1.5.0: Environment colors are no longer random.
* v1.5.0: Storing the last entered IP Address.
* v1.5.0: Adding a run particle effect to make it clear your speed is increasing.
* v1.5.0: Fixed the disabled sound effect trigger and animation.
* v1.5.1: Updating environmental graphics to have a graph-like glow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#82Innovation(Jam)3.85
#174Overall(Jam)3.72
#195Fun(Jam)3.58
#255Humor(Jam)3.17
#385Mood(Jam)3.37
#757Theme(Jam)3.38

Comments

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38am

very nice idea, maybe add competition by letting a player reactivate his hacked keys (and in an easier fashion)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43am

This is a really interesting idea. The most interesting part about this is actually the shields, they make the gameplay really fun. Good luck with UNET.

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:28am

Mmm, too tough to get going, completely multiplayer. Sorry.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:20am

Really neat hacking idea! I know how hard it is to make a networked game so congrats on getting it working in such little time.

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:45pm

looked fun, but could not play because of the lack of openents

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:56pm

nice but wrong theme

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Interesting concept, but not really adapted for an jam for me. You should keep working on it after the Ludum Dare. Good job anyway ^^

maartene says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

unfortunately, I can't play the game because it's multiplayer only. too bad, because the idea looks quite promising. perhaps you could add online match making?

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Took a while to get running, framerate on Mac made it unplayable. Tried to play with another person but it ran 1 to 2 fps

awesomerex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I liked the audio! I had trouble playing multiplayer. It looked cool though. It reminded me of faceball 2000 on the super nintendo. Cool Concept

LudoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

interesting concept

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:40am

Really want to try out a classic Omiya game but I'm not popular.. maybe one day

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:44am

nice game

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:09pm

nice little game! good job ;)

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Pro:
+ Very interesting concept
Con:
- Theme seems a bit off
- Multiplayer only, couldn't play it >.<
Obs:
o So I'm just voting for innovation and theme

Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]