Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Uni Ika

by cinnamonmelonpig - Compo Entry

Two button sushi eating game,

Controls: Z (bottom rail) and X (upper rail)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#28Graphics4.40
#33Audio3.96
#94Overall3.84
#95Humor3.49
#121Mood3.62
#216Fun3.54
#296Theme3.95
#385Innovation3.31

Comments

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36am

Wow, this is a production quality game. Unplayable in Firefox because of lags. Works fine in Chrome though.

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:00pm

I Love It. Incredible graphics and idea. Congrats

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:05pm

This is really cool! I love the game concept. The music had a nice beat to it and I gradually got into a rhythm with the sushi!

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Fantastic! I love the way the bird wiggles his arms to the beat. This game looks really really great-- not sure what more you could want from a compo submission!

kmakai says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Great job, I really like the art style, and having the voice samples when the sushi gets placed is a really nice touch!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Seriously, great game. Everything is to the beat of the music. Great entry.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Love the music!!
Its a little laggy...so gameplay kinda breaks!!
But a fun game!!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Really enjoyed the game, super fun idea. It was a little annoying that you can't see plates on the lower track until they come around, and after about Level 3 you can't really tell how many plates there are because of the overlap. The window of time to catch the plates seemed a little too tight, especially since the background music's beat threw you off a bit compared to the rhythm of the button pushes. Outside of that, though, the overall presentation and aesthetic were really pleasing and well done. With a little bit of mechanical polish, you'd have an excellent game on your hands!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Really sharp looking, definitely well polished. Surprisingly fast paced action. Fits the theme perfectly. Awesome work!

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

This is amazing! great job!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

The art is unbelievable. Good Job.

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40pm

I love how the bird and the sushi machine dance with the music. The voice acting adds a lot of humor to the game, especially when the combos get long.

The difficulty ramp is also nice, it makes things interesting really fast.

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Maybe it was just my browser (Firefox) but it kept lagging in and out, which, as you might imagine, makes a game of timing almost impossible. Seemed to work fine after I loaded it up a 2nd time. Everything else was really awesome, though!

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Holy wow... that aesthetic. Brilliant work! Great fun too!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00pm

This is great, it'd be nice if the lower level was visible as it was placed on the belts, and wasn't such a surprise.

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:17pm

That was a pretty awesome game. I absoultely loved the visuals, and the idea was really unique. However, some of the sounds sounded a bit harsh, and loud (comparatively). Nonetheless, the level of polish is insane.

veverichka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Great little game, I experienced no problems in Firefox. :)

sergei_ryzhov says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

love it. Awesome style, nice music and gameplay really works. Fun stuff!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15am

Omg the animations were so good! I found the isometric view a little obnoxious when trying to pick up sushi for some reason... Overall great game!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Great one! Would be fun on mobile with two players. Could tone down sounds(but I know how it is with "quick generate some sounds").

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Cute, well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I love this! An amazing an humorous rhythm game, I found it especially entertaining. Good job!

wine says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:21pm

At first... hilarious! :D
Also cool visual and nice gameplay

Very well done!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Really nice job! I just really miss a "game over" screen showing my score. Other than that it's amazing

Tapehead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:41pm

wow! this is funny! like thie visual style and the music! well done!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:03pm

You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0rB_UjhQBc

klianc09 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Really fun game, like the voices the sushi-machine makes when it's getting really fast.
Only complaint would be that Z and X aren't so convenient on all keyboards, adding Y as an alternative or using X and C would have been awesome.

tribrain says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Nice artwork! a little laggy but great game, well done

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Fun, good presentation, challenging : good job !

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:47am

Great LD game!
I really wanted to see another level! I had my rhythm game fingers ready and everything :-D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]