Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PINGROW

by junt74 - Jam Entry

Survive with Jumping, Growing and Un-growing.

[Controlls]

[Up Arrow Key, left virtual button] Jump, Restart
[Space Key, right virtual button] Grow&Ungrow, Restart

1) Score increases FAST when the penguin is tall :)
2) You can make penguin shrink with the grow-button when reached to the maximum height.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Theme(Jam)3.96
#441Humor(Jam)2.77
#872Fun(Jam)2.68
#993Overall(Jam)2.70
#2482Coolness0%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:32am

I like the concept of the game and how you've incorporated both themes. Interesting.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24am

At first I was annoyed that growing tall didn't give me any advantages, then i saw the score skyrocketing. Then i thought it was cute that he can't jump very high when tall. In general, it's pretty hard.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11am

Very fun little minigame, generally the difficulty is a tad steep. A little difficult to play on pc but still cool.

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22am

Got 39972! It's fun, but really simple. Background and ground graphics could be improved a bit. Really like how the penguin looks.

illraceyou says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

Cute concept, but it seems like some bullets are impossible to dodge... I DO like penguins, tho....

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39am

Cool concept. I like the use of both the themes as part of the game play. Super hard though!

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40am

Is there a point to grow? I feel like I could just sit on the ground forever. Neat concept though

danthedev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

Fun use of growing and two buttons — nice to have added mobile oriented controls too. Not much replay value, but the initial difficulty is enough to make it fun.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

Really cool concept, and cute graphics! Good job!

jackycute says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00am

So funny! I like it!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06am

Logicon, yeah, the point is when you're small you basically gain nothing for points.

So the whole point of the game is kinda pseudo-psych-warfare trying to "outsmart" the bullets when to grow and your points skyrocket.

But a tip is you gain the same points "1 step shorter than max" so you grow and then *shrink 1 level* so you're only two taps from being small then you can jump the grounders.

Difficulty ... a little strange. This LD is producing a lot of games that are "both easy and hard".

I know, it's prob random gen, but if you "pseudo-treat it as psych-warfare" if you think you see "1 opening to grow" don't fall into the "trap". Stay small and deal with the 7 grounders!

Then when it looks like you've got a legit window, grab points.

I made it over 10,000 a couple times before I began to do other things.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Game is awesome; the humorous idea makes me laugh.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Nice gmae. The sounds are alittle bit to loud tho ^^

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05pm

I need to shrink again!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Very cool concept! Pretty fun when we discover the grow mechanic and all the points that we win :o
Well done!

demogorgon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Definitely need a way to get shrink. :P

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

hah very cool. I think the score multiplier for being fully grown may be too high, but got a pretty nice score because of it :)

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:55pm

sounds were extremely loud and no restart button. Other than that its ok

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]