Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Temple of Horyuji

by ZYXer - Jam Entry

_________________________

"Defend the Temple of Horyuji against haunted spirits!"
_________________________

CONTROLS

LEFT or RIGHT: Move
LEFT and RIGHT: Interact (Press both buttons at the same time)

_________________________

ABOUT THE GAME

This is a two button strategy management wall defense game. You also have to defend the temple against a growing threat. So I guess both themes are covered.

The game was supposed to be a Compo entry, but I ran out of time. So all graphics and code were done by me in 72 hours.

The gameplay is strongly inspired by the game Kingdom and the artwork is inspired by a Japanese painting I recently saw.

Sorry, I suck at making music/sounds. So the game is silent. You can search for "Relaxing Japanese music" on Youtube if you want manual background music.

_________________________

HINTS

* If you have a low framerate you can press Q to toggle particles.
* Press P to pause the game.

_________________________

TIPS FOR PROS

* Arrows only hit one enemy, catapult rocks can hit several enemies.
* Trees grow over time, but very slowly.
* The effects of level 5 buildings stack.
* All barricades and walls are fully healed each evening before the haunted spirits spawn.
* If you made it to day 8, you pretty much won. I never made it past that day.
* According to my calculations it's not possible to get beyond day 13. So if you reach day 13, you definitely won.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#26Fun(Jam)4.07
#30Overall(Jam)4.17
#42Graphics(Jam)4.55
#90Mood(Jam)3.90
#183Innovation(Jam)3.62
#200Theme(Jam)4.04

Comments

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Can't believe this doesn't have any comments. Loved this entry, graphics were top notch and gameplay felt solid. Tower defence system mixed with tactical resource harvesting! :D Both themes covered well, didn't even mind the lack of sound! :)

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I like the graphic style, the day-night transition effects, the moving sun and moon looks great.
I think use "Left + Right" together could not be count as 2 buttons though.
Overall it's nice game :)

luke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I really like your graphic style, I think if you had put some sfx (mining, chopping, building) the game would be even better, there is open sfx and music on the internet that you could be used. The game is pretty balanced too, great job!

Karlux says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:31am

Very beautiful and unusual graphics. Loved the haunted spirits. Good sense of time passing. I had fun trying to plan the use of stone and iron.

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:20am

BEAUTIFUL game. This was very elaborate given the constraints of the theme - not only is it growing and two-button controls, but it's multi-faceted in goals, objectives, and commands. I wish the game had a specific end game, and that there were more help screens while playing. That said, it wasn't too hard to figure everything out. Delegating that stone is tough!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

Love it. Really, the sound is all that it's missing. Some stock effects/music would've done wonders for the feel.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:14am

Shame there's no sound but I absolutely loved the visual design and the two button mechanics were well done.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:12am

Excellent animations, solid gameplay. Very nice!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:25am

Really nice game, aside from no sound (try sfxr, like the rest of us who suck at sounds :-)). Beautiful graphics, uses both themes, decent gameplay (although if I had known my tower would only take one hit, I probably would've spent more time on my defences). The first few days are pretty slow, but I enjoyed it. Really nice job.

alyphen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:35am

A graphically stunning and beautifully designed survival game. Progression was well-balanced and the attention to detail was incredible. It's sorely lacking sound, but with that and some further expansion (making the later days easier and further resources to gather, or adding an amount of time in each level before you can progress to a different map with different resources or something) I think this could definitely turn into something you could sell.

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:42am

The resource collecting was quite menial, but despite that it was quite fun! Very pretty too, but I think some simple sound effects and ambiance could have gone a long way.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Pretty sweet graphics, with interesting gameplay. Like a survival tower defense...

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:14am

What a great entry!
The graphics style is so great!
The gameplay is good, but only use two button(but it is theme...) makes me tired of holding left and right.

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Survived for five nights on my first try. Probably won't try again as each run takes quite a while. Looks good and progresses pretty well, even if the two button control scheme takes a bit of getting used to. Nice and (apart from audio) complete game.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:23am

Wow, you knocked this out of the park. Great controls, great graphics, great gameplay. I look forward to seeing this on the top 10 lists.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:33am

Nice art style. Gameplay was well designed and fun. Felt a bit boring at time collecting resources. Controls could use some massaging, particularly pressing left & right at the same time needs to be more reliable. Could use a bit of story, the world seems interesting and I want to know more. Mood is great but music and sound would have made it even better. Still though after having my level 4 temple destroyed I'm tempted to give it another run. Awesome work overall.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:43am

Gameplay has an extremely solid foundation, I felt like the difficulty ramp could be tweaked. It was super easy for 3 nights and then I lost. Maybe the temple should be able to take more hits before falling? A wonderful entry with great art and mood!!

Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:01pm

This is one of those ludicrously polished and beautiful entries that make us other participants jealous. The gameplay itself is a pretty typical tower defence game, but there's just so much content to build. The monochrome graphics are great and quite ambient (the spirits are pretty scary when you can only see their silhouettes), and the construction animations are beautiful. Building things felt quite satisfactory in an "Age of Empires" way.

Some music to go with the mood would be awesome.

Definitely one of the more professional entries I've played this time. Please keep making games.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:08am

Might be biased, as I am a sucker for these types of games, but I found this to be incredibly fun. The graphics are amazing, and the animation is excellent. Would love to see this expanded upon.

My only complaint lies with building, in that the game frequently thinks I'm trying to build something new when I just want to upgrade a preexisting building or chop a tree.

squirrelbot says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Fun, but I found the lack of stone a problem. But I suppose it needs some challenge. It could really have done with some haunting music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]