Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Subject Is Compliant, Subject Is Defiant

by Christina Nordlander - Compo Entry

Theme: two button controls.

You are a prisoner subjected to mind-eroding treatment by an AI.

An unusual text adventure game. Most commands are disabled; influence the outcome by typing COMPLY [C] or DEFY [D].

Made in 48 hours in Inform 7.

Many possible endings, more or less happy. Walkthrough for one ending available at http://doopnet.com/games/compliant/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#26Mood4.14
#163Overall3.69
#296Theme3.95
#311Fun3.38
#320Innovation3.41

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49am

Pretty interesting storyline. Did you imagine one true ending, or is the truth dependent on what you choose?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34am

@justinooncx: Heh, thanks for playing! And yes, your choices determine the outcome, and what the player character believes about their own identity in the end.

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Well done. Very Very innovative

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Awesssommmeee. Love it. Wish it had been even longer!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Thank you very much!

@phi6: I did feel like I could have fitted more content in there. I might make a more (much more!) polished post-compo version at some point.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I was drawn into the storyline pretty quickly, complied a lot, but I finally could not take it anymore and defied the orderlies at the end. Great stuff!

Aglavra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Thanks! I really liked the writing and the idea of two true endings, as it seems to me.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Cool. I like the take on the subject and the game world. I got 3 different endings.

piper82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:00am

beautiful writing.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:14am

A text adventure! I like the storyline and had some fun figuring out all the different endings. I like the idea of reducing the interface to two verbs for this compo.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:33pm

It's a nice little choose your own-adventure. Reminded me more of psychological thrillers like Shutter Island or the Prisoner though than any science fiction, so I don't think I saw where the AI came in but I didn't mind. Personally love those type of stories anywho.

The writing was pretty good and evocative enough and I also liked the comply/defy-dynamic. It added a pretty nice dynamic to the scenes and allowed you also for some subtle variations in the various routes outcomes.

It definitely got me hook. I'd personally like to see a longer version with the mechanic and the story a bit more expanded upon to say the least and possibly with some audio to it.

Well done! :)

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Intriguing storyline. I like the distinct changes in the narrative dependant on your choices. That was a pretty unique take on the them.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:51pm

This was surprisingly immersive, as I'm not usually into this type of game. The writing put me inside the characters head and, when the time was right, I made my escape. Great entry, 5* from me. Great work.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:06pm

@Crashmore Studios: That is high praise! My idea was that the Treatment Room is in fact computer controlled (there's no person behind those loudspeakers), but I could have made that clearer. Of course, the protagonist wouldn't know, either. I did get quite a bit of inspiration from The Prisoner. (Other influences were "I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream" and Porpentine's game "Cyberqueen".)

As for everyone else, thank you very much for your nice comments!

Efuvex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:17am

Really well written story - and for the 48 hour mark no less. Also found the game mechanics really cool, simply because they're so unique.

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:17am

Nice! Found two different endings. Liked it even if I'm not used to this kind of game.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Wow, I definitely loved your writing and this story just sucked me. Looking forward to checking out your other works, and future works.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Thank you very much!

@oz2mura: I'm flattered! Just a word of advice if you're looking at playing my other games: give "Pure Green" a miss, it was an experiment, but sucked. "Red and Gold" isn't too brilliant either (I think I had a pretty cool idea, but the actual gameplay ended up dull as hell). My other games might be worth a look, if you liked this one.

kmakai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Loved your writing, the detail really brings the scenes to life. I think this setting was perfect for the format, it gives plenty of room for the player to imagine the scenes and implant themselves in them, while also being clinical and monotone.

The different paths seem to stitch together really nicely too, I'm always curious to see the actual topology the branching decisions make in games like this.

Great job!

Jod says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Pretty damn cool! Lovely writing, very well done. I liked the ambivalency about the truth all through the game. A very creepy undertone indeed!

felilix says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:13am

I really liked the writing in this! Great choose your own adventure that works well.

kaa says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very cool text adventure! Didn't check all variants and my english is not very fluent. It's difficult to make good text adventure (I tried), but this time you definitely got it

OwT says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:22am

Amazing. Lovely writing and interesting plot. I'm amazed how you did throughout all of it in such a little time.
The presentation of the story was also very fitting to the mood.
I enjoyed and I'm sure I'll play it again and again and again... just to see all the possibilities.

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:57pm

The ambiguity of the story is pretty interesting. Tried a few different paths to see how much pathing there really was and all of them felt believable.

BigAnt says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:19pm

VERY WELL DONE! Great use of the them and I quickly found myself immersed in the story. Awesome job!

ursagames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:25am

Excellent use of the theme and writing! I found myself going back and looking at a few of the different endings. I enjoyed the open-endedness of the branching stories.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:28am

Pretty neat game, I didn't quite understand the whole plot, but I liked it.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:29am

Great stuff. I like this take on interactive fiction. Had a great mood to it too.

BooleanByte says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:34am

Interesting idea, and it makes for an interesting situation as I don't know whats true, are they tricking me or is it true. I had this wierd feeling the first run, when i mostly defyed what they tried. But the second run got me somewhere else, but might it still be a lie? Who knows?

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Had to use Chrome for this as Firefox doesn't work for some reason but I loved the story and multiple endings. My only gripe is that the block of text after you've entered a command is a bit too large at times and appears too quickly for me to read and understand more about the story (Maybe have each paragraph appear slowly one by one instead?).

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:09am

@Xanjos: Good point, I do feel the story ended up a bit too wordy in places.

Thank you for your review!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]