Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Heart Murmurs

by Ludipe - Compo Entry

"Heart Murmurs" is a 2 player(single player friendly) coop arcade game with very simple rules. Stay alive for as long as possible and put the together the two pieces of the heart.

Made in a couple of hours in front of a crowd while taking care of a game booth.

Instructions:

player 1 - A & D
player 2 - Left & Right
Start - A + Right

Goal: Survive for the longest time possible and save your score by joining the two pieces of the heart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#170Mood3.48
#182Innovation3.68
#339Graphics3.36
#352Overall3.39
#372Theme3.86
#384Audio2.85
#545Fun3.07
#576Humor2.15

Comments

dodormeur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20am

Nice game, maybe it would need better sound/music, and a one-player mode.
I like the choice to save your score or try to make more score this game offers :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45am

Awesome little game for being made in a couple of hours while presenting at the Digitall game event. The gameplay experience is rather short, but controls are tight and adds up for an interesting 2P challenge. Got ourselves over 700 points. Congrats Ludipe!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Really nice concept for a two player snake game, as it's co-op instead of competitive.

Graphics and sound are good. Nothing astonishing, but they do their part nicely.

Love that you couldn't resist making a game even when you were really busy.

Good job!

Haokarlos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

I love it! I give you the half of my heart <3

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Nice little game Ludipe, specially considering you made it during a showcase of your game haha

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Very nice idea, it is a clever take on the theme. The end result is impressive considering the context you developed the game in, congrats! :)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52am

I liked your use of the themes and the Snake Game mechanics. Really great choice to make a 2 player coop game.
The graphics and the sound are good, the gameplay runs well.

It would be better is the background was made of squares to guide the hearts better.

Great job man! You made an awesome game, even taking care of a crowd!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:26pm

It's crazy impressive that you put this together in front of a crowd - I would have frozen up for sure ;) Makes a great co-op game (and a pretty tricky single-player game too)

Kepab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Nice! A compact yet impactful project, presented well and feels whole.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:50pm

The game seems pretty polished. We had a lot of fun playing it.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Played this solo (which is definitely harder than it looks) but I really like this interesting twist on the mechanics of Snake.

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:38am

Cool twist on the classic snake, with a nice graphical aesthetic. Not sure if there's a moral message about us all being doomed from the start to die... ;)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:26am

Liked this one alot-- the Matrix color scheme really lends alot to it (not for any particular reason, it just looks neat) I almost liked the title screen cooperation task to start the game as much as the game itself.

I did have to play this one by myself but I still found it quite enjoyable and very challenging.

local minimum says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Very interesting coop game mechanics idea of doing mutual avoidance and then finally matching up the pieces. It felt a little empty and/or short as it was now though and I think it would add a lot to the suspense if each play-through has 3-5 hearts to start and if you have levels with increasing amount of obstacles (and potentially larger in size too) so that it is not only the matter of one single matching but also deciding if it is worth squeezing out some more points on the level while risking a heart or collect the points and move on to the next level. The sounds were really nice and the graphics did their part nicely. And again, very interesting concept for a coop game.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:00pm

nice, interesting concept, well done

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:50pm

it's clear and nice! well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]