Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Much Gold

by WitchLake - Jam Entry

------Description------
You know goblins right? You also know how hungry they are for gold! Right?! And GROWING their fortune!? ... RIGHT?!

If you enjoy dungeon crawling, side scrolling buggy cameras, diamonds, tables, stone, pizza or taxes, this game is for you!!!

------Story------
The great goblin king is annoyed of the ridiculous amount of his fortune. As always the heroes are taking all the loot for themselves! Damned! Does he's gonna get the gold by by himself? Of course not... You're gonna do it!

Loot all the rooms and get the treasure back to your greedy king!

------Accounting-----
VAT : 7.6%
Gold bounciness : 56.34%
Goblins revenue share : 12.3%

For any complaints about score and loot sharing please send mail to chief-accounting@goblins.com

------Controls------
Joystick (We used XOne driver on OSX)
Left stick : Left/Right
Button 0 : Jump
Button 1 : Drop the bag
Button 2 : Action

Start : Reset level

Keyboard
A/D: Left/Right
Space : Jump
"o" : Drop the bag
"i" : Action

Esc : Reset level

------Credits------
Concept art, Illustration, Props
Charline Saucy, Swan Keller

Character design, Animations, UI design
Arthur Bourquin

Sound Design, Music, Sound programming
Raphaël Tuor

Gameplay programming, UI programming
Dan Bourquin

Game Design, Level design
Romane Donnet

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#123Graphics(Jam)4.21
#202Humor(Jam)3.32
#207Audio(Jam)3.57
#214Fun(Jam)3.55
#286Innovation(Jam)3.45
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#645Theme(Jam)3.55

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Fun and nice graphics!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Excellent presentation. Wish I could control how much coin I dropped when I dropped the bag, it's too easy to make a level unfinishable. Neat puzzle though!

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Nice graphics, good footstep sounds. Controls were a little weird and the actions felt a bit cumbersome, but the idea was pretty solid, I thought you did well with the Grow theme! Something about the way the bags were handled I didn't like, like the way that the placement was done and the Goblin felt a bit too heavy at times.

That being sad, the game was fun and there's a lot of room for expansion with the idea I think. Good job :)

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00am

I really love the concept of this and the art and sound effects are really good. As cool as it is to combine bags of gold I did it on accident and then I didn't have anything to bounce on when I got on the next platform but nonetheless this was a very fun game.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I like the glitch where you vomit 2 value bags ad infinitum.

Would crash again.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Great idea, art, and sound. I had the same problem as disdanes, as i collected the gold on the second level, went back to the first to collect the ones i dropped, then had nothing to get to the third platform :(

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Wow this feels like a complete game and is a lot of fun. Would love to see this as a full game I feel you could do a lot of cool stuff with the mechanic.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Really good! The greedy version of Rogue Legacy aha :')

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

I love the graphics and the bag dropping mechanic! Its too easy to get stuck though (for example if you drop the bag in front of level finish - you can't pick it up again)

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Very good game, enjoyed it a lot. Jumping might be a bit unresponsive sometimes

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Congrats on the game guys, it's a really original concept and a lot of fun to play. The idea of using the gold both to get through the next level and to jump higher is great! You can get stuck in some levels though, but it's the kind of thing to expect when coding with a strict deadline. Lots of potential here, keep up the work for a complete version!

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Thanks for your review guys!! We are aware of the bag issues is an error of action priority... I think we can push another version very soon! Thanks for the feedback! Drury can you tell me how did you manage to make that glitch? So we can patch it :P

Team Buttface says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Nice looking and very fun puzzle game! With a bit more polish some hazards and more levels I think it could be a very solid platformer.

RuinWalker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

The camera was a bit annoying at times. For example if you move left while jumping upwards and then suddenly had to jump right, you can't see where you're walking and jumping since the character is still on the right side of the screen. The controls were also just slightly unresponsive at times, but this wasn't really a big issue. Other than that, very nice graphics and interesting gameplay!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Great game and nice graphics

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44am

Nice game, really liked the gameplay!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Its a great game !

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Very nice art-style! Liked the using money for springs mechanic. Would be nice to be able not to put all the money you have in the bag, but I guess that is part of the puzzle. The game was not too difficult. Found one problem though: when you put a bag by the exit, you can't pick it up again, because it will only try and exit the level if you push the action button, but you couldn't exit the level because you don't have enough gold.

Switchiers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:45pm

A really nice game! Love the graphics!

sergicollado says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:02pm

fun game!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Really funny game, with nice graphics, the "drop the bag" mechanic works well.
+1 because you play a gobelin!
Nice entry

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Very good game. It reminded me a little Styx: Master of Shadows. I just thought pretty confusing symbols of xbox control buttons to press when you are not using it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:27am

nice game - would be better to have drop the coins split the value otherwise some levels become unable to finish - good work

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:14pm

You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRXegYh1MPw

klianc09 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Gamepad controls were bugging out, but that was probably my gamepad, would have been awesome to disable gamepad controls.
Liked the mechanic, but very easy to mess up, when you don't know what the level will look like.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:02am

Nice graphics, neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/r75qiAihqqk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]