Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gift Wrapper

by NightShadow0 - Compo Entry

Santa has created a special super-sticky lollipop to help him gather the loose presents in his workshop. Little did he know that the formula also made the lollipop sentient! Can it grow large enough to crash out of the workshop?

Gift Wrapper is an arcade-style katamari-like, where your lollipop GROWS bigger as you stick to items, allowing you to stick to bigger items.
The planned game was much bigger, with you leaving the workshop to engulf penguins and polar bears in the north pole, stealing Santa's reindeers, then falling from the sky to terrorize a city. Alas, this is all i had time for.

TWO-BUTTON CONTROLS:
*Up directional key / W / Z: Move up.
*Down directional key / S: Move down.

Game made in Unity; artwork made in Photoshop; music made in SunVox; sounds generated in Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#119Theme4.16
#174Humor3.14
#191Fun3.58
#405Mood3.06
#454Audio2.68
#491Overall3.22
#526Graphics3.00
#625Innovation2.91

Comments

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Nice mood going on! A nice take on the Katamari idea. I like the mood you have :)

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Nice use of the theme, I never even thought about katamari!

Simple, but well done. My only little feedback is that in Katamari we can experiment collecting different things, as if we try to pick something larger than we can pick up, the punishment is very light. So forcing a restart every time we hit a bigger object may be a little too harsh...

but overall, really good submission, I had fun with it...

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06am

Growing and two button!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:34am

nice and cute, cool concept, love the toy references, well done

carlsommer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:02am

It was pretty fun! I liked how both themes were incorporated, and I loved being able to wrap up dogs and drag them around with me : )

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Well done, seems well balanced too, never seemed like I didn't have anywhere to go. Really fun

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:01am

Nice little game, I like the multiple control scheme and it prevent the browser from jumping all over the place. The music is quite sharp.

michidk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:48am

Really fun!

unprompted says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Naaaaaaaaaaa nanana nana na na na Katamari Damacy.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:22am

Hehe, glad to see someone taking this spin on the theme.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:05am

Pretty fun 2D interpretation of Katamari.

Dreyan says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:16am

Cute game, nice use of the theme, fun ^^

ac7 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:57am

Very innovative! This is the best way I've seen the themes combined. You struck a very nice balance with the difficulty.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:08am

Nice use of both theme elements! :D
Also, thanks for listing the tools you used, I have to check out SunVox!

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:25pm

The only think that i dont like its S to go down and Z to go up XD

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:02am

Thanks for playing, rating, and leaving feedback, everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]